Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies
The following print and digital resources include general reference tools for the study of history and / or religion and works specifically focused on Japanese or Asian religions.
Dictionaries
Oxford Reference Online: Religion and Philosophy: Online versions of a number of reference sources, including A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Oxford Reference Online: Mythology and Folklore: Includes A Dictionary of Asian Mythology, A Dictionary of Superstitions, A Dictionary of World Mythology, and The Oxford Companion to World Mythology.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism 電子佛教辭典: Dictionary of Buddhist terms from a range of languages, including Japanese. Definitions given in English.
JapanKnowlwdge+NR is a gateway to a wide variety of encyclopedias, dictionaries, maps, publications, and other scholarly resources for Japanese and East Asian Studies including following two titles.
Nihon kokugo daijiten 日本国語大辞典: Online version of the second edition of the 14-volume 日本国語大辞典, the "OED" for the Japanese language. Covers both the classical and modern languages as well as dialectical and script variations. Provides definitions, pronunciations, etymologies, and examples.
Nihon rekishi chimei taikei 日本歴史地名大系：Japanese historical place name dictionary. Complete contents of 51 volumes including 200,000 place names and supplemental maps and images are fully searchable.
Kojiruien 古事類苑:This comprehensive encyclopedia for Japanese historical terms in 51 volumes is fully searchable.
A dictionary of Asian Christianity. Edited by Scott Sunquist ; associate editors, David Wu Chu Sing and John Chew Hiang Chea.
Grand Rapids, MI : W.B. Eerdmans, 2001.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | BR1065 .D52 2001
Harvard-Yenching | Ref | (W) BR1065 .D52 2001
Lamont | REF.ROOM | BR1065 .D52 2001
Widener | WID-LC | BR1065 .D52 2001
A Dictionary of Buddhist terms and concepts.
Tokyo : Nichiren Shoshu International Center, 1983.
Harvard-Yenching | Ref | (W) BQ8409 .D53 1983
Bocking, Brian. A popular dictionary of Shintō.
Richmond, Surrey [U.K.] : Curzon Press, 1996.
Harvard-Yenching | Ref | (W) BL2216.1 .B63 1996x
Widener | WID-LC | BL2216.1 .B63 1996x
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Shinto
Tokyo : Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics Kokugakuin University, c2001-2006
Translation of Shintō jiten 神道事典 (HOLLIS record).
Fung Library | Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan | Reference BL2220 .S4513 2001x
Harvard-Yenching | Ref (W) BL2220 .S4513 2001xJapan : an illustrated encyclopedia.
Tokyo : Kodansha ; New York, N.Y. : Distributed by Kodansha America, 1993.
Online access via JapanKnowledge
Essays and illustrations on various aspects of Japan's culture and history.
Fung Library | Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan | DS805 .J263 1993
Harvard-Yenching | Ref | (W) DS805 .J263 1993
Lamont | REF.ROOM | DS805 .J263 1993
Widener | RR 3950.40Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Essays cover individuals, concepts, and events related to all aspects of philosophy, with some coverage of East Asian religion and philosophy.Kodansha encyclopedia of Japan
Tokyo ; New York, N.Y. : Kodansha ; New York : Distributors: U.S.A. [for] Kodansha International/USA through Harper & Row, 1983.
Very useful English-language encyclopedia with detailed entries on various aspects of Japanese history, culture, and society.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. DS805 .K633 1983
Baker Business | Oversize | AE35.2 .K62 1983
Fung Library | Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan | DS805 .K633 1983
Harvard-Yenching | Ref | (W) DS805 .K633 1983
Lamont | REF.ROOM | DS805 .K633 1983
Quad Library | Reference | DS805 .K633 1983
Rubel (Fine Arts) | Reading Room | R-J A7030 K76
Widener | WID-LC | DS805 .K633 1983Abingdon dictionary of living religions. The perennial dictionary of world religions
Keith Crim, general editor; Roger A. Bullard, Larry D. Shinn, associate editors.
San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1989, c1981.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | BL31 .A24 1989
Widener | WID-LC | BL31 .A24 1989Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Robert E. Buswell, Jr.,editor in chief.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA/Thomson/Gale, c2004.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | BQ128 .E62 2004
Widener | WID-LC | BQ128 .E62 2004The encyclopedia of Eastern philosophy and religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber [et al]
Boston : Shambhala, 1989.
Widener | RR 4885.5
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | BL1005 .L4813 1989
Harvard-Yenching | Ref (W) | BL1005 .L4813 1989The Encyclopedia of religion computer file
Mircea Eliade, editor in chief ; editors, Charles J. Adams ...et al.].
[New York] : Simon & Schuster ; Macmillan, c1996.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. CD-ROM | BL31 .E46 1996
Consult Reference for training and use.The Encyclopedia of religion
Mircea Eliade, editor in chief ; editors, Charles J. Adams ... [et al.].
New York : Macmillan ; London : Collier Macmillan, c1987.
Grossman | Ref | BL31 .E46 1987
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | BL31.E46 1987
Lamont | REF.ROOM | BL31 .E46 1987
Tozzer | REF | BL 31 .E46 1987
Widener | RR4803.3
Bibliographies
An Introductory bibliography for Japanese studies.
Tokyo : Japan Foundation, 1974-
Periodic overviews of Japanese-language scholarship on subjects in humanities and social sciences beginning in 1974 and continuing until the present; the most recent volumes are 2001-02. Religion is in the humanities volumes. Besides essays introducing scholarly trends, bibliographies of monographs and reference works are provided at the end of each chapter.
Fung Library Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan DS806.Z99 I57x
Harvard-Yenching Ref (W) DS806.Z99 I57x
Tozzer L.SOC.69.140.3.9
Widener WID-LC DS806.Z99 I57xBibliography of Japanese new religions : with annotations and an introduction to Japanese new religions at home and abroad : plus an appendix on Aum Shinrikyō. Edited by Peter B. Clarke.
Richmond, Surrey : Japan Library, 1999.
Lists of sources in Western languages and Japanese, including both publications by new religions and scholarship about them. For some entries, there are brief annotations describing the content or evaluating the source. Also provides summaries describing the history of specific religions.
Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. BL2207.5 .B515 1999
Fung Library Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan BL2207.5.Z99 B53 1999x
Harvard-Yenching Ref (W) BL2207.5.Z99 B53 1999xHolzman, Donald., Japanese religion and philosophy : a guide to Japanese reference and research materials.
Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, 1959.
Harvard-Yenching Ref (W) BL2202 .H65 1959x
Harvard-Yenching (W) BL2202 .H65 1959xEarhart, H. Byron. The new religions of Japan; a bibliography of Western-language materials.
Tokyo, Sophia University
Harvard-Yenching (W) BL2207.5 .E37 1983x
Widener WID-LC DS801 .M52x no. 9Schwade, Arcadio. Shintō-bibliography in western languages : bibliography on Shintō and religious sects, intellectual schools and movements influenced by Shintōism
Leiden : E.J. Brill, 1986.
Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. BL2220 .S39 1986
Harvard-Yenching Ref (W) BL2220.Z99 S39 1986x
Widener WID-LC BL2220.Z99 S39 x 1986