Useful Harvard Online Tools for Research
These online tools are of potential use for all your research in Harvard Libraries:
Lib-X: a browser toolbar add-on that allows you to quickly search the HOLLIS Catalog, E-Journal List, E- Resource List, Citation Linker, and Google Scholar, and links to other search tools and library resources.
Cross Search: lets you search more than one database at a time in a variety of subject areas.
Citation Linker: an online form using pieces of a bibliographic citation, this automatically links you to either the electronic full text of a journal article, or to the HOLLIS record showing which Harvard libraries own it.
Chicago Manual of Style: the fully searchable online version of the 15th edition of this style manual.
RefWorks: a web-based bibliographic management program that allows Harvard researchers to create personal databases of citations, abstracts, images, and other materials in electronic form, and to integrate these sources into bibliographies, articles, etc. written with Word and other word processors.
Harvard Library: here you'll find information on the libraries and collections that make up the Harvard College Library, as well as online forms for services, including:
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) (see Harvard-Yenching ILL to borrow East Asian-language materials)
"On Order" or "Ordered-received" materials
East Asia / Religion Collections at Harvard
A number of libraries collect materials on Japanese history and religion in East Asia.
Andover-Harvard Theological Library: Collects on religion and philosophy, including those of East Asia, in Western languages. Also holds a number of missionary publications and papers.
Fine Arts Library: The Rübel Asiatic Research Collection holds materials in English, Japanese and other East Asian languages on East Asian art. Among its strengths are its holdings on Buddhist art and Japanese woodblock prints from the Edo and Meiji periods.
Tozzer Library: Anthropological and ethnographic materials, including many on East Asia and on religion, primarily in Western languages.
Need Research Help?
Kuniko Yamada McVey (617-495-3395), the Librarian for the Japanese Collection at Harvard-Yenching Library, is happy to hear from you and to assist with your research.
Depending on your topic and language skills, you may also want to consult the following librarians:
Raymond Lum, Librarian for the Western-Languages Collection, Harvard-Yenching Library, 617-495-0585
Reference staff at Andover-Harvard Theological Library