Introduction to HOLLIS and East Asian Scripts
We now have 2 versions of our online library catalog: HOLLIS and HOLLIS Classic. As the newer version of the catalog, HOLLIS, does not allow for searching in alternate character sets (non-Roman), we strongly suggest that you use HOLLIS Classic until the time that the new HOLLIS supports alternate character searching. Our instructions here are all for HOLLIS Classic.
Search the HOLLIS Online Catalog to find books and journals for your research. HOLLIS contains records for over 15 million items: books, journals, sound recordings, manuscripts, films, maps, government documents, and electronic resources held by various libraries at Harvard.
You cannot find journal articles in HOLLIS. Please see the relevant section of this guide or E-Research@Harvard Libraries for databases that index periodicals.
HOLLIS Classic is searchable in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Most records for materials in those languages will provide the original script as well as the romanization.
- Some records are only in romanization.
- It is not necessary to use a macron (ō) or to double the vowel (e.g., oo, ou when representing Japanese long vowels in romanization. For example, Tōkyō is just Tokyo.
- Keyword searching with characters (漢字) lets you search across languages.
- Try using Expanded Search in HOLLIS Classic, because it lets you limit your search by language, by date, by format, and by library.
For more suggestions, please consult Searching the HOLLIS Classic Online Catalog.
HOLLIS and Endnote
Endnote is citation management software which you can install on your computer. You can download the software from the FAS computing page. It is a keyed application, so you will need to be on the Harvard network or, off-campus, using VPN (Virtual Private Networking) software and KeyAccess, when using the application. Both of these can also be downloaded from the same FAS page.
There is no direct export of HOLLIS records to Endnote and, to date, not as many East Asian databases have developed Endnote compatibility. On the positive side, Endnote does let you search more library catalogs and databases than Refworks, and Mac users sometimes find it works better than Refworks for them.
Using RefWorks, EndNote, and Other Citation Tools provides an introduction to the program, including how to use it with HOLLIS. An Endnote filter for HOLLIS may be downloaded under "My Account" in HOLLIS.
Endnote and East Asian Scripts: Endnote has similar problems treating parallel, romanized/original script fields in bibliographies as Refworks (discussed above), so careful proofreading of bibliographies is essential.
Exporting HOLLIS Records
Print/Save/Send and Add to List links within results displays (lists or individual records) allow you to e-mail individual records or to create a set of records to save or send. Format options include Citation, a very useful tool for bibliographies; Full (used with Refworks); and MARC tags (used with Endnote).
East Asian scripts: The default encoding for exporting HOLLIS records is Unicode (UTF-8), which accomodates East Asian scripts. If your email or text file does not display correctly, make sure the encoding of the saved document, browser or email program is set to UTF-8.
HOLLIS and Refworks
Using RefWorks, EndNote, and Other Citation Tools provides an introduction to this software, including guidance on using it with HOLLIS and a comparison of its functionalities with those of Endnote.
Refworks and East Asian Scripts: Refworks handles East Asian scripts well. Please note, however, that when you import citations with "parallel fields" (one in romanization, one in original script) from HOLLIS or other library catalogs, Refworks may treat them as independent items rather than multiple representations of the same field. When you export the citations into a bibliography, different forms of an author's name may be treated as different authors. For example, Tayama Shigeru 田山茂 will appear in your bibliography as "Tayama, Shigeru and 田山茂" or "S. Tayama and 田山茂." Editing the bibliographic style can help you reduce, but not eliminate, this problem; for example, you could set it to remove "and" between multiple authors, but then you will need to add "and" manually where appropriate when you do have multiple authors. Careful proofreading is thus especially important when creating bibliographies with mixed scripts.
Things to remember, especially if including records in East Asian scripts:
- Sometimes direct export from HOLLIS (JSTOR, Academic Search Premier, etc.) may not work. You can still save your citations as a .txt file to your computer, and then import it into Refworks.
- Refworks is compatible with BibTex format. If you don't see a specific Refworks option, you can try BibTex.
- Choose UTF-8 encoding in Refworks when you import if that is not the default, or you may lose characters and diacritics.
- Romanization and spacing standards for East Asian scripts may not be consistent across databases. You will have to edit entries if you want consistency in your notes and bibliographies.
- East Asian databases usually don't include romanization, so you may need to add this yourself to each record.