Visual Sources

Visual materials, i.e., drawings, paintings, prints, photographs, films, videos, etc. are to be found in many Harvard libraries. Records for many, but by no means all, individual Harvard University Library images are available in VIA, an online catalog of images. Records include subjects and a thumbnail image.

Images

Umbra Search is a search engine for African American digitized materials in numerous repositories

Digital Public Library of America offers textual, visual, and sound resources contributed by numerous libraries, archives, and museums.  Searches catalog records, not full text.​

Digital Libraries by State: These websites list hundreds of local, state, and regional resources.

WorldCat OAIster (Union catalog of digital resources)  Advanced Search. Adjust Databases: from WorldCat to OAIster.  Open Options (upper right). Change Record list size from 10 to 100.

Search:
Keyword: [your search term(s)
AND
Keyword: mt:picture

Chicago Urban League Photos.

The Civil Rights Era in the U.S. News & World Report Photographs Collection: Selected Images from the Collections of the Library of Congress

Digital Schomburg

AP Multimedia Archive (AccuNet) is a searchable database of over 700,000 Associated Press photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present.

Images of America: a history of American life in images and texts is the online version of thousands of books in the Arcadia US local history series. The histories Includes photographs from archives, historical societies and private collections. Images and text are fully searchable. Searchable by location, person, event, date, ethic group and organization.

Portrait of Black Chicago (1970s)

Motion Picture/Television/Radio

Civil Rights Digital Library. Lots of film

Television News of the Civil Rights Era 1950-1970

Internet Archive. In Advanced search select Mediatype: Movies

American History in Video has numerous modern documentaries together with newsreels from 1929 to the present.

Library of American Broadcasting

Further Information

Film Research at Harvard