Modern History 近代
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) アジア歴史資料センター
国会図書館憲政資料室 Modern Japanese Political History Materials Room, NDL
Modern Japan in Archive: Political history from the opening of the country to post-war 国会図書館「史料にみる日本の近代」
"The World and Japan" 「世界と日本」 Basic Documents of Japanese government and diplomacy since Meiji era are compiled by Tanaka Akihiko, University of Tokyo.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
官報 Government's official daily Kanpo(1883-1952) and English edition (1945-1952) are fully digitized by the National Diet Library. 明治16（1883）年7月2日の官報創刊日から昭和27（1952）年4月30日までの官報、および昭和21（1946）年4月4日から昭和 27（1952）年4月28日の期間のみ刊行されていたOFFICIAL GAZETTE; ENGLISH EDITION（英文官報）
Bibliography
Modern Japanese History: created and maintained by Andrew Gordon.
Bibliography of Japanese History up to 1912: created by Peter Kornicki.
Catalogue of the pre-1900 printed books on Japan in European languages: housed in the library of the International Research Center for Japanese Studies; 1,057 items.
Subject Index
Prange Database 占領期雑誌新聞記事データベース: covers 1945-1949, citation only. Yenching library has full sets of newspapers and journals in microform.
〈近代日本の南方関与〉に関する戦後日本刊行文献目録 山本勇造/盛田良治編
Institutions
アジア歴史資料センター Japan Center for Asian Historical Records
National Archives of Japan 国立公文書館
Searchable catalog of 490,000 volumes of Naikaku bunko 內閣文庫, which includes official documents since the Edo 江戸 government and other historically significant books and manuscripts.
Links to Local Archives in Japan 国内の文書保存施設 Compiled by the National Archives of Japan.
Internationa Reserach Center for Japanese Studies 国際日本文化研究センター
National Museum of Japanese History 国立歴史民俗博物館 The museum is digitizing its primary documents and compiling bibliographies and a collection catalog.
E-Books
Open Library including 4000 titles E-Books from Aozora Bunko.
Japan's total empire: Manchuria and the culture of wartime imperialism, by Young, Louise. University of California Press, 1999.
Official catalogue of the Japanese section, and descriptive notes on the industry and agriculture of Japan. Philadelphia, Published by the Japanese Commission, 1876.
E-journals
Contemporary Japan : Journal of the German Institute for Japanese Studies.
the Cross-Currents East Asian History and Culture Review
Early Modern Japan: an interdisciplinary journal
ejcjs electronic joiurnal of contemporary japanese studies
Japan Focus, Asia Pacific Journal
Japanese Book News is published quarterly by the Japan Foundation to make available to overseas readers up-to-date information on new books and recent topics of Japan’s publishing culture.
京都大学発行電子ジャーナル : A portal for E-journals published by Kyoto University.
Japan Focus : Asia-Pacific Journal: Japan Focus.
Japan Forum : official journal of the British Association for Japanese Studies.
Japan Review (1990-present) : published by Nichibunken.
Japan Studies : issued by Japanese Studies Association of Australia.
Positions : East Asia cultures critique
Trans Asia Photography Review : an international refereed journal (ISSN: 2158-2025) devoted to the discussion of historic and contemporary photography from Asia, free access online.
「東洋文庫報』 : available after No 41 (March 2010) in pdf.
Primary sources
Sources of East Asian tradition: The Modern period, edited by Wm. Theodore de Bary.
Sources of Japanese tradition: 1600 to 2000, compiled by Wm. Theodore de Bary ... [et al.].
