Academic/Professional Periodicals

Using specialized databases is a way of narrowing to a particular discipline. Often easier than doing it in HOLLIS Everything.

Oxford Bibliographies offer numerous annotated bibliographies on a wide array of topics. Includes

Academic Search Premier (largely 1980s- ) is the usual index of first resort for general periodical searches. It indexes over 3000 journals in most fields plus many general interest periodicals. Full text is available for many of the periodicals. Includes Time full text back to 1923. Book reviews are included. A few periodicals have indexing back to the 1970s.

Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of over 6000 journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. About 750 of these are full text. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal.

  • Basic Search searches the full text of those journals with full text, together with the citations of the non-full text journals.
  • In Advanced search, adjust the menu to Anywhere except full text to search citations only.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. Covers: science, 1900- ; social science, 1900- ; arts/humanities, 1975- . More information.

You can use the Cited Reference Search in Web of Science find articles (or books, 2005- ) citing a book or article.

Open Cited Reference Search.  Put your author in the first box (initials only): Harris E.  Specify the work with its date, not its title (Titles are abbreviated variously).  Select the pertinent records, which are largely unordered, in the results screen.  Searching a common name will yield numerous irrelevant results.  Finish search.

  •  A guide is available: Searching the Citation Indexes (Web of Science).
  • The Web of Science comprises three indexes: Science Citation Index, (1900- ), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900- ) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975- ).

For example:

Urban agriculture: growing healthy, sustainable places, by Kimberley Hodgson, Marcia Caton Campbell, and Martin Bailkey. Chicago, Ill. : American Planning Association, 2011, 145 p.

Search:

Cited author: Hodgson k
AND
Cited year(s): 2011

Business Premium Collection (1971-) indexes academic management, marketing, and general business journals

Business Source Complete (early 20th century- )

EconLit (1969- ) indexes articles from over 525 journals. Since 1987 includes books and dissertations. Earlier years available in print in Index to Economic Journals (1886- ) and Index of economic articles in collective volumes (1960- )

International bibliography of economics (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.

Economist Historical Archive (1843-2004).

Education Source (1929- ) indexes articles of at least one column length from more than 535 English-language journals and yearbooks worldwide. Records of books (1995- ) are included. Includes book reviews.

ERIC (1966- ) includes published and unpublished reports and other sources from RIE (Resources in Education) and periodical articles from CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). No book reviews.

Bibliography of education. In: Educational review, 1899-1906. LOCATION: Gutman Education: Per L11.S35

Bibliography of education and its successors are available full text in HathiTrust. Advanced Full Text search with Bibliography of education as this exact phrase in lower box

Continued by: Bibliography of education, 1907-1912 (United States Bureau of Education Bulletin). LOCATION: Gutman Education: Z5811.B86

Continued by: Record of current educational publications, 1912-Jan/Mar 1932. (U. S. Office of Education). LOCATION: Gutman Education: L111.A62 LOCATION: Gutman Education: L111.A6 no.15

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of numerous education journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many educational journals. List of included journals.

Primary Search (1984- ) offers indexing and full text (1989- ) for nearly 100 elementary school level children's magazines.

GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.

JSTOR allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of:

  • Gender and Society 1987-1998
  • Journal of Health and Social Behavior 1967-1996
    • Journal of Health and Human Behavior 1960-1966
  • Journal of Marriage and the Family 1964-1999
    • Marriage and Family Living 1941-1963
    • Living 1939-1940

LGBT Life with Full Text indexes scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, and newsletters on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender topics. Some records for books. Most coverage from 1980s to present, but some major periodicals indexed from the 1950s-1970s.

SEXBIBLIO: bibliography of the history of western sexuality, ed. by F. X. Eder. 4th ed.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995-)

Women's Studies International (1972- ) accesses a variety of women's studies databases.

CAB Abstracts (1910-Present) includes journal articles, conference papers, reports, and books on public health. Worldwide coverage with emphasis on Africa and Latin America.

Global health, 1973-Present

PubMed (1950-Present) covers, usually with abstracts, periodical articles on all areas of medicine. 

For more see the Library Research Guide for the History of Science

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals [title varies] (1949- ) indexes 75 international English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
Guide with links to online
HOLLIS Record

Index to contemporary military articles of the World War II era, 1939-1949, by Benjamin R. Beede. Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2005, 455 p.
HOLLIS Record

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS http://www.csa.com/factsheets/pais-set-c.php

JSTOR includes the full text of 119 political science journals from their date of inception to about 5 years ago.

International bibliography of political science (1953- ), included in International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, is a bibliography of periodical articles, books, essays in books, and government publications.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (1991- ) includes articles, books, conference proceedings, working papers, etc.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975- )

GENERAL RELIGION INDEXES

American Religions Collection (UCSB) 1920s-1990s) documents religions founded or strongly influenced in America (Baptist, Christian Science) plus new and alternative religious and spiritual groups.  Includes mainly serials together with manuscript subject files.

ATLA Religion Index (1949- ) indexes articles, covering over 500 journals, essays in books, and book reviews (1949- ), with Protestant emphasis but some coverage of Catholic, Jewish, and other religious literature. Includes archeological literature of religious significance. Incorporates the print publications: Religion index 1: periodicals (1977- ), Religion index 2: multi-author works (1976- ), Index to book reviews in religion (1986- ), Index to religious periodical literature (1949-76), and Methodist reviews index (1818-1885).

An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion, 1890-1899. Ed. E.C. Richardson. (In: Nineteenth Century Masterfile)

Google Theological Journals Search

Religious and theological abstracts (1958- ) abstracts over 350 periodicals in several languages (abstracts in English). Covers mainly Christian periodicals, with some Jewish, Muslim, and other religions represented. No book reviews. Classified arrangement with author, scripture, and subject indexes.

CHRISTIANITY

Boston College Jesuit Bibliography covers books, book chapters, journal articles and book reviews with English abstracts. More information.

Catholic periodical and literature index (1930- ; online version: 1981- ) indexes about 200 periodicals and lists books. Includes book reviews and Papal documents. Covers, mainly, British, Canadian, Irish, and U.S. publications. Online content included in ATLA Religion Database.  Print version:
HOLLIS Record

Continues:
Guide to Catholic literature, 1888-1967. 8 v. (vol. 1: 1888-1940)
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z7837.G9
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC BX1751.2.Z99 G85x

Christian periodical index (1956- ; online version 1976- , limited earlier coverage) indexes over 120, largely U.S. evangelical and fundamentalist periodicals. Includes book and media reviews. There are author, subject, book review, and book title indexes. Print version (1956- ):
Location : Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. Z7753 .C5 (1956-1975)

ISLAM

Index Islamicus (1906- ) indexes articles, essays in books, and books (beginning in 1976) in Western languages on the Muslim world. Covers both Islamic countries and Muslim minorities. Includes pre-Islamic Arabian history and non-Muslim Turkic peoples, past and present. Inclusion of book reviews begins in 1993. Newspapers (and other periodicals published more than once monthly), gray literature, and government publications are not included. Print version:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. DS44.I37
LOCATION: Fine Arts: Reading Room RFA 31.60.7
LOCATION: Law School: Islamic Reference DS 44.Z99 Q34
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4881.11

JUDAISM

Index to Jewish periodicals (1963- ; online version: 1988- ) indexes over 100 English-language general and scholarly periodicals. Includes book reviews. List of periodicals indexed. Print version:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z6367.I5
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC DS112.Z99 I54x Earlier
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4875.15 (Latest 10 years)

Index to Hebrew Periodicals (Mafteah le-khitve-'et be-'Ivrit) (1977- ; some pre-1977 content being added) covers articles in Hebrew periodicals, collections, a few monographs, newspapers, and articles in other languages dealing with Israel. The IHP comprises four separate indexing projects: Index to Hebrew Periodicals, The Eretz Israel Database, The Tel Hai Index to Hebrew Newspapers, Bar Ilan Indexing Project, all of which use a common thesaurus. Printed version ceased with index to 1991. Print version:
LOCATION: Microforms (Lamont) | Microfiche W 2830
LOCATION: Widener | RR 663.822.5 (1977-1991)
LOCATON: Widener | Harvard Depository | PHeb 58.71

RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (1966- ) attempts to index all important articles on Judaica in all languages worldwide. Indexes in Hebrew and English.  Print version:
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref. Z6366.J6
LOCATION: Widener: PHeb 84.2
LOCATION: Widener: RR 4875.10

 

ASIAN RELIGIONS

Bibliographie bouddhique, 1928-67
Widener | R 1010.7 vol.3,5-6
Harvard-Yenching | (W) | BQ4012.Z99 B58
Rubel (Fine Arts) | Harvard Depository | AZ1500.BB
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | BQ1.B52

Bibliographies

To find bibliographies of books and articles in the HOLLIS Catalog, in Expanded Search do a variety of keyword searches (Keywords Anywhere) plus the standard term "bibliography" (Subject words). Notice the Subjects on pertinent records for terms for additional searches. Examples: <Mary Virgin> and <bibliography>, <Jainism> and <bibliography>, <Buber Martin> and <bibliography>.

A critical bibliography of religion in America, by N. R. Burr. Vols. 3-4 in Religion in American life, ed. by James Ward Smith and A. Leland Jamison. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1961.
Location : Andover-Harv. Theol BR515 .S6
Location : Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. BR515 .S6
Location : Baker Business BR515 .S6
Location : Gutman Education BR515 .S6
Location : Widener US 2061.300
--An extended bibliographical essay, in chapters by subject with author index. Includes primary and secondary books and articles.

See the Library Research Guide for the History of Science (General)  --  By Discipline

Social science premium collection searches several social science databases

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts: ASSIA (largely 1987- )

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences(1951- ) includes: International bibliography of sociology

Sociological Abstracts (1952-)

Race Relations Abstracts (1975-Present)

See the Library Research Guide for the History of Science

Urban Studies Abstracts (1973 - )

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,500 international periodicals on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage begins in the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) and extends to the present.