The American Red Cross Clubmobile Service was a mobile service club staffed by American women who served coffee and doughnuts to American servicemen in Europe during World War II. The Clubmobiles traveled with the rear echelon of the Army Corps and received their orders from the Army. Clubmobiles served troops in England, France, Italy, Belgium, Luxembourg, and Germany. This collection contains correspondence, memoirs, insignia, clippings, and photographs documenting the experiences of women who served in the American Red Cross Clubmobile Service.

Mary Wolfowitz Blumen trained as a nurse at Beth Israel Hospital in New York. She enlisted as a nurse during World War II, serving at the 1st General Hospital in London during the Battle of Britain and in Normandy following D-Day. She left the army in 1946. The collection includes her army records, materials concerning 1st General Hospital staff, photographs, and her son's eulogy at her memorial service.

Frances Brown Demarest was a "gray lady" for the Red Cross during World War II, providing non-medical services to patients. This collection consists of letters, most to Demarest from her parents, two siblings, and her four children. The letters are concerned with health issues, family news, financial problems, and her son's service as a World War II pilot. There is some material on the Red Cross.

A staff assistant in the recreational branch of the American Red Cross, Hutchins served overseas during World War II. This collection includes letters from Hutchins to her mother (1944-1946) and a scrapbook documenting her years with the Red Cross.

Elizabeth Reed Keller was a Red Cross staff assistant during World War II. This collection includes an incomplete diary written during her service in Italy.

Munford was director of Recreation and Personal Service Units with the American Red Cross in Ft. McClellan, Ala. During World War II she served with the Red Cross in England, North Africa, and Italy. In 1946 and 1947 she was welfare supervisor for UNRAA (United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration) in China. This collection includes a memoir about her time in North Africa and a transcript of reminiscences about her work with the American Red Cross.

Pedersen was assistant director of the nursing service of the U.S. Veterans Administration (ca. 1925-1943); rehabilitation officer for the American Legion (1947-1950), and chief nurse at two Veterans Affairs facilities. She worked to combat discrimination against women veterans.

A psychiatric nurse, educator and author, Hildegard Peplau served in the U.S. Army Nurses Corps (1943-1945) before becoming a faculty member of the College of Nursing at Rutgers University (1954-1974). This collection includes material pertaining to the American Nurses Association, the International Council of Nurses, the U.S. Air Force, the Veterans' Administration, and the World Health Organization.

As a young unmarried woman, Jean Ross Howard Phelan served with the American Red Cross during World War II, managing a program for recuperating military men in Capri. Later in her life, she became a pioneering female helicopter pilot and founded the Whirly-Girls, an international organization of women helicopter pilots. This collection consists of a diary which mostly documents Phelan’s daily life and social interactions, with some descriptions of her work with the American Red Cross.

A nurse and Republican congresswoman from the Fifth District of Massachusetts, Edith Nourse Rogers was elected in 1925 to fill the vacancy caused by the death of her husband, John Jacob Rogers. Re-elected to every successive Congress, she died in office, having served as chairman of the Veterans' Affairs Committee and a member of the Foreign Affairs Committee. During both world wars, American presidents assigned Rogers to survey the medical care of wounded American soldiers overseas, and between the wars she oversaw the care of disabled veterans. Legislation attributed to Rogers includes improvement of the Foreign Service, establishment of the WAC, enactment of the G.I. Bill of Rights and the Korean veterans' benefits bill, establishment of a permanent Nurse Corps for veterans, and other laws providing aid and assistance to permanently disabled American war veterans.

Born in Boston, Mass., Gretchen Schuyler was a member of the American Red Cross Clubmobile Service during World War II, receiving a Bronze Star from President Truman for her bravery during the Battle of Bastogne. The collection includes letters from Schuyler to family and friends (1943-1945); issues of The Sinker, published for American Red Cross Clubmobilers; photographs of Clubmobilers and soldiers; and a uniform.

A weekly periodical published in London by the American Red Cross Clubmobile Service.

Mary Churchill Small worked in Europe during World War II with the American Red Cross. The collection consists of photographs, clippings, and Small’s correspondence with family and friends during her war years.

Helen (Betty) Elizabeth Tank traveled to England in August 1939 and was stranded there by the outbreak of World War II. In May 1940 she began working as a housemother at the American College for Girls in Istanbul, Turkey; she later taught English and science there. She left Turkey in July 1943 and began working for the American Red Cross in Cairo, Egypt, returning to the U.S. in December. Her memoir of her life in Turkey and the Middle East, Pushing My Shadow, was published in 1995. The collection includes diaries from her time with the Red Cross in Egypt.

This collection contains pamphlets pertaining to women and service, both at home and abroad, during World War II, including some that give vocational information on nursing.

Margaret Verhoeff Wyper served with the American Red Cross in England, working in Red Cross clubs for servicemen in Norwich and Salisbury. She later worked in a hospital in Malvern before being transferred to an Army hospital in Rheims, France. The collection consists of an interview with Wyper under the auspices of California State University, Long Beach Foundation.