An internationally known war correspondent, photographer, and philanthropist, Bonney lived in Europe, working as a photographer and photographic researcher before documenting the ordeals of Europeans during World War II. After the war she tried to promote European-American relations and directed post-war relief programs. This collection includes biographical information, correspondence, information about the Women's Land Army and the Women's Auxiliary Army Corps, and 238 of Bonney's photographs.

Nona Baldwin Brown was born in Elizabeth, New Jersey, and received an advanced degree in journalism from Columbia University (M.S. 1940), after which she was immediately hired by the New York Times. In 1942, Brown temporarily left her job and joined the Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service (WAVES) in the United States Naval Reserve, serving from 1942 to 1945 as a public relations press officer. In 1944, she married Clinton Bleecker Duma Brown in New York City, both in their military uniforms. Brown left the WAVES and returned to the New York Times Washington Bureau in 1945, eventually switching to the Sunday Department.

Catherine Mary (Coyne) Hudson graduated from the School of Journalism at Boston University and began writing for the Boston Herald, serving as their foreign correspondent in Europe from May 1944 to July 1945. She was one of the first women allowed to accompany Allied troops as they landed in Normandy. From October 1945 to January 1946 she returned to Europe to report on the Nuremberg trials.

Marie-Anne Greenough worked for the U.S. government as a translator and propaganda/intelligence analyst in Washington, New York City, London, Frankfurt, and Berlin (1941-1946). She also served as a correspondent for the Stars and Stripes for six months before returning to the United States. During the early 1950s, she worked on the newsletter of the Atlantic Union Committee for a Federation of All Democracies. The collection includes diaries, scrapbooks, articles, and correspondence relating to her work overseas. It also contains letters in German to Marie-Anne from a boyfriend written between 1938 and 1940.

Florence Jaffray Harriman organized a Red Cross motor corps in France and chaired the Committee on Women in Industry for the Council on National Defense during World War I. She served as United States Minister to Norway during parts of World War II (1934-1941). This collection contains one letter, a transcript of a radio address (1941) concerning conditions in Norway during World War II, and a pamphlet containing the text of a speech entitled "War Experiences" (1940).

Jane Hope Hastings applied for a position with the newly formed United Service Organizations (USO) through the Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) in 1941. Her first assignment after a brief training was in Falmouth, Massachusetts, where she directed the USO for Camp Edwards. She subsequently served for fourteen years with the USO in Alaska, Brazil, and Puerto Rico, among other assignments. She retired from the USO in 1955.

Charles Ashley and Mary Tyng Higgins were missionaries in China from 1939 to 1941 who were interned by the Japanese and repatriated in 1942. This collection includes correspondence with family and friends describing life in China (1913-1949).

Hazel Hunkins-Hallinan was born in Aspen, Colorado, but later lived in England and worked as a freelance journalist. In 1942, Hunkins-Hallinan was evacuated to the United States for the remainder of World War II. Between 1942 and 1945, she worked for a number of government offices, including the Foreign Economics Administration.

Journalist Ruth (Cowan) Nash began as a weekend movie reviewer before becoming a reporter for the San Antonio Evening News and a freelance writer for the Houston Chronicle and other papers. She was one of the first women accredited as a U.S. Army war correspondent and served overseas for the Associated Press from January 1943 until May 1945.

Natalie Stark lived in the Philippines, where she was interned by the Japanese during World War II. This collection includes four versions of the diary Natalie kept during her internment, one version of which was published in 1980 as Forbidden Diary: A Record of Wartime Internment, 1941-1945.

Rosinal Marguerite Wolfson headed a Red Cross ambulance unit in France during World War I. She lived with her brother and parents in Manila, Philippine Islands, before, during, and after World War II, and was a Republican National Committeewoman for the Philippine Islands from 1921 to 1947. The collection includes reminiscences of experiences of Americans during the Japanese occupation of the Philippines during World War II.