Listed here is a selection of the major indexes
- General Humanities and Social Sciences Literature
- Asian Studies
- Religious Studies
- Gender Studies
- Public Policy
Periodicals Index Online indexes contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom, and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Includes book reviews.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many economics journals. List of included journals.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951- ) offers worldwide coverage of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.
Bibliography of Asian studies (1941- ) covers English-language books (published before 1992 only), essays in books, and periodical articles. No book reviews. In 1956, coverage was extended from East and Southeast Asia to include Central and South Asia and the Philippines. The online version starts in 1971. Issued separately in print (1969-91) and as special number of the Journal of Asian Studies (1966-69) which is available in JSTOR. A cumulated version for 1941-70 is available. For earlier coverage see Bulletin of Far Eastern bibliography (1936-40).
Cumulated version (1941-1965, 1966-70; subject and author bibliographies):
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: Ref (W) DS5.A87 1970x
LOCATION: Harvard-Yenching: Ref (W) D5.A87 1969x
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3910.10
LOCATION: Widener: RR 3910.11
Bibliography of British and Irish History (formerly Royal Historical Society Bibliography) is a comprehensive bibliography of secondary sources dealing with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present. Includes sources on Britain's role in the Middle East.
Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.
Oxford Bibliographies Online (updated quarterly) is a series of selective, discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences. You may conduct an advanced search while limiting results to sources on the topics of Buddhism, Hinduism, or Islamic Studies. Entries provide synoptic, bibliographic guides to the key literature and most useful online resources in given area of research.
World Religion Database (irregular) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world's religions for the period 1900 to 2050.
JSTOR Religion (updated regularly with past issues; rarely includes the most recent 5 years) is a trusted archive of important scholarly journals. You may conduct an advanced search while limiting results to sources on the topic of religion.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (1881- ) indexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Citations cover all religions and all theological points of view.
Christian Muslim Relations Online, 1500-1900 is a general history of relations between the two faiths as this is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. It covers all parts of the world in the period 1500-1914.
Index Islamicus (1906- ) is a bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews.
Religious and Theological Abstracts (1958- ) provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Database lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions.
Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- ) includes full text of English-language journal articles, newsletters, research reports, pamphlets, newspapers, directories, guides, and fact sheets from scholarly and government/non-profit agency/international organization publications concerned with women's issues in 190 countries.
GenderWatch (1974- ) provides full text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
International bibliography of research in marriage and the family. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press. 2 v.
CONTENTS: v. 1, 1900-1964; v. 2, 1965-1972.
Widener | Soc 5205.4 F (F means it is oversize and at the end of the Soc’s)
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) (1915- ) indexes international public and social policy literature. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, government documents, etc. Journals indexed in PAIS.