Context and Background

The Cambridge Companion to Modern Indian Culture. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge UP, 2012. Cambridge Companions to Culture.

Caste, Society and Politics in India from the Eighteenth Century to the Modern Age. Cambridge, [England]: New York: Cambridge UP, 1999. New Cambridge History of India; IV, 3.

The Economy of Modern India, 1860-1970. Cambridge [England]; New York: Cambridge UP, 1993. New Cambridge History of India ; III, 3.

Women in Modern India. Cambridge [England]; New York: Cambridge UP, 1996. New Cambridge History of India ; IV, 2.

Banglapedia - the National Encyclopedia of Bangladesh is a comprehensive reference work on Bangladesh from high ancient period to date.

Historical dictionary of India, by Surjit Mansingh. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2006, 833 p.
FindIt@Harvard

India today: an encyclopedia of life in the Republic, ed. by Arnold P. Kaminsky and Roger D. Long. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2011. 2 v.
FindIt@Harvard

Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism

Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes the searchable content of several reference works including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and other works. Also contains: The Koran Interpreted (a verse translation), The Qur'an (a prose translation), and A Concordance of the Qur'an.

Encyclopaedia of Islam Online offers over 13,000 articles on topics in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies.

Encyclopaedia of Islam, 3rd ed., offers enhanced coverage of 20th century Islam.