Biography
World Biographical Information System includes full text of thousands of biographical dictionaries accessible by name of biographee. Online full text. You can limit the search to the Indian Biographical Archive.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the standard British source for biographies of major figures. Can do searches of occupations and limit by date: Advanced Search Options: People Search.
The biographical dictionary of greater India. New Delhi: Promilla & Co., 1998.
Widener: WID-LC DS434.B56 1998
The Cambridge Companion to Gandhi is comprised of essays by renowned experts in the fields of Indian history and philosophy, tracing Gandhi's extraordinary story.
Dictionary of Indian biography, edited by IBC Research Wing. Varanasi : Indian Bibliographic Centre, 2000. xxvii, 477 p. ;
Widener | RR 3925.32
--Includes about 1000 deceased persons from the last 150 years. About half are political leaders. Scholars are well-represented; other occupations receive less coverage.
Who was who in British India, by John F Riddick . Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT1503.R53 1998
--Covers about 3500 non-Indians, largely British, concerned with India from late 16th century to 1947. Entries list the biographee’s books. Terminal bibliography of collective biographical works. Index by occupation. Indexed in Biography and genealogy master index.
Women in Indian history : a biographical dictionary / T. P. Saxena. New Delhi : Kalyani Publishers, c1979. 114 p.
Widener | WID-LC | CT3720 .S28
Dictionary of national biography. Edited by S. P. Sen. Calcutta, Institute of Historical Studies, 1972-74. 4 v.
Widener | Ind 2200.89
Contemporary
India who's who. New Delhi : INFA Publications, 1969-2006 eds. 1-29
Widener | RR 1646.15 Latest Widener | Ind 2200.29 Earlier
--About 5000 entries (2006 ed.) arranged by governmental division or profession. Terminal name index.
--For earlier coverage 1914-1984 The Indian year book & who’s who (1914-1947) continued by Indian and Pakistan yearbook and who’s who (1948-1953).
Who's who in India (New Delhi, India) Who's who in India. New Delhi, Guide Publications. 1967. ports.
Widener | Ind 2200.16