Research Guide for Slavery and the Civil War Era

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slavery contains references to over 25,000 scholarly works on slavery and slaving worldwide. It includes most known print and digital materials published since 1900 covering historical and modern times.

The Harvard guide to African-American history, ed. by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham et al. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2001, 923 pages
HOLLIS Record

The Black Experience in Colonial Latin America (Oxford Bibliographies)

America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews on North American history.

Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many African-American studies and historical journals. List of included journals.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (1900- ; full text 1998- ) indexes over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the US, Africa and the Caribbean.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. More information.

Periodicals Index Online indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Includes 218 journals in American history and 840 journals in world history. Also numerous journals in related subjects. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals.