Slave Narratives
Background and Context
The Oxford Handbook of the African American Slave Narrative, ed. by John Ernest. New York : Oxford University Press, 2014, 472 pages.
HOLLIS Records (Print and online)
The Cambridge companion to the African American slave narrative, edited by Audrey Fisch. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2007, 266 p. HOLLIS Records (Print and online)
Slaves Narratives
North American Slave Narratives (DocSouth). Simple full text search upper right.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project (Library of Congress)
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 offers over 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, from the Library Company of Philadelphia. Adjust one search box to Genre: "Slave narratives", put your search term in the other box. Or browse by Genre. 64 narratives
Anthologies of African American Writing Search (upper right) “Slave narratives”. Several can be full text searched in Internet Archive.
North American slave narratives (Digital Library of Georgia) offers 25 full text searchable slave narratives from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Documenting the American South project
In HathiTrust Advanced Full Text Search, search
Full text: Your term
AND
Subject exact phrase: Slave narratives
This will search modern secondary works and anthologies. You can limit to 19th and early 20th century works for original slave narratives. There are about 30 for 1800-1940.
American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology. Not full text searchable.
The American slave: a composite autobiography, ed. by George P. Rawick. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Pub. Co. 1973-1976. 19 v.
Federal Writers' Project.
Contents: Series 1: v. 1. From sundown to sunup: the making of the Black community.--v. 2-3. South Carolina narratives, Pt. 1 and 2, Pt. 3 and 4.--v. 4-5. Texas narratives, Pt. 1 and 2, Pt. 3 and 4.--v. 6. Alabama and Indiana narratives.--v. 7. Oklahoma and Mississippi narratives.--Series 2: v. 8-10. Arkansas narratives, Pt. 1 and 2, Pt. 3 and 4, Pt. 5 and 6.--v. 11. Arkansas narratives, Pt. 7, and Missouri narratives.--v. 12-13. Georgia narratives, Pt. 1 and 2, Pt. 3 and 4.--v. 14-15. North Carolina narratives, Pt. 1 and 2, Pt. 3 and 4.--v. 16. Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Virginia, and Tennessee narratives.--v. 17. Florida narratives.--v. 18. Unwritten history of slavery (Fisk University).--v. 19. God struck me dead (Fisk University).
HOLLIS Record
The American slave: a composite autobiography : supplement, series 1, ed. by George P. Rawick et al. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Pub. Co., 1977. 12 v.
Contents : v. 1. Alabama narratives.--v. 2. Arkansas, Colorado, Minnesota, Missouri, and Oregon and Washington narratives.--v. 3. Georgia narratives, part 1.--v. 4. Georgia narratives, part 2.--v. 5. Indiana and Ohio narratives.--v. 6. Mississippi narratives, part 1.--v. 7. Mississippi narratives, part 2.--v. 8. Mississippi narratives, part 3.--v. 9. Mississippi narratives, part 4.--v. 10. Mississippi narratives, part 5.--v. 11. North Carolina and South Carolina narratives.--v. 12. Oklahoma narratives.
HOLLIS Record
The American slave: a composite autobiography: supplement, series 2, ed. by George P. Rawick. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979. 10 v.
Contents : v. 1. Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington narratives.--v. 2-10. Texas narratives.
HOLLIS Record
Index to The American slave, ed. by Donald M. Jacobs and Steven Fershleiser. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1981, 274 p.
--Indexes the main work and its supplements, series 1 and 2.
HOLLIS Record
A comprehensive name index for The American slave. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
HOLLIS Record