Background and Context
Encyclopedia of the middle passage, ed. by Toyin Falola and Amanda Warnock. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2007, 426 p. HOLLIS Record
The Longman companion to slavery, emancipation, and civil rights, by Harry Harmer. Harlow, England; NY: Longman, 2001, 263 p.
HOLLIS Record
Chronology of world slavery, Junius P. Rodriguez. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1999, 580 p.
HOLLIS Record
The Historical encyclopedia of world slavery, ed. by Junius P. Rodriguez. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1997. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
The Oxford handbook of slavery in the Americas, ed. by Robert L. Paquette and Mark M. Smith. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2010. xii, 775 p.
Online Version
Internet Archive Full Text
HOLLIS Record
African-American Studies Center: Historical and contemporary information documenting African diaspora and African American history and experience. Includes encyclopedias and other reference works covering all aspects of the African American past. Best place to begin research.
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history: the Black experience in the Americas, ed. by Colin A. Palmer. 2nd ed. Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. 6 v.
Lamont | REFERENCE | E185 .E54 2006
Widener | RR 4781.44.5
Slavery in the United States: a social, political, and historical encyclopedia, ed. by Junius P. Rodriguez. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2007. 2 v.
Widener | RR 4781.41.90
The Harvard guide to African-American history, ed. by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham et al. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2001, 923 p. + 1 computer optical disc Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | E185 .H326 2001 CD-ROM in pocket of inside back cover.
HOLLIS record with Google Books preview
African American Studies Center
Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Encyclopedia of slave resistance and rebellion, ed. by Junius P. Rodriguez. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007. 2 v.
Widener | WID-LC | E447 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of emancipation and abolition in the Transatlantic world, ed. by Junius Rodriguez. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2007, 3 v.
HOLLIS Record
--Vol. 3 contains primary documents)
Proslavery: a history of the defense of slavery in America, 1701-1840, by Larry E. Tise. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1987, 501 p.
Widener | WID-LC | E337.5 .T57 1987
Internet Archive Full Text
--Good primary source bibliography