Resources for Mozart research

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. [La scuola degli amanti, ossia, Cosi fan tutte : dramma gioccoso in due atti del sigr. Wolfgango Amadeo Mozart.] Manuscript score, late 18th or early 19th century.
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.661.9.

Cosi fan tutte. Manuscript score, in several hands. About 30 bars omitted in last finale.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. German & Italian. [Cosi fan tutte : dramma giacosa in due atti con musica di W.A. Mozart =Weibertreue, oder, Die Madchen sind von Flandern : komische Oper in zwey Aufzugen von W.A. Mozart.] Leipzig: Breitkopf und Härtel, [1810].
Houghton Library *93B-434 F Haverlin Collection.

Così fan tutte. Full score. 269 pages. Words in German and Italian. Recitatives with Italian words only. Breitkopf & Härtel no. 1363. Ex libris: Ernesto Spagnoletto (signature), W. Henry Webb (label). Ref.: RISM A/I, M 4693.
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.661.5.

Così fan tutte. Score with German and Italian text. Recitatives with Italian words only. Breitkopf & Härtel no. 1363. Ref.: RISM A/I, M 4693.

Merritt Room Mus 745.1.661.5 PHI.

Label on t.p.: Imported and sold by Chappell and Co., 124, New Bond Street, London.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. [Così fan tutte: dramma giocoso in due atti.] Paris: J. Frey, [1820?].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.657.3.

Libretto by Lorenzo da Ponte. "Edition dediee aux souscripteurs par l'editeur". "Liste alphabetique des souscripteurs"--P. i-iv."Personaggi"--P.v-vi.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Così fan tutte, o sia la scuola degli amanti, per il Cembalo dal Sign. Volfgango Amadeo Mozart. Weibertreue, oder die Mädchen sind von Flandern, ein komisches Singspiel in zwey Acten von Herrn Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Im Klavierauszuge von Siegfried Schmiedt.] 3 vols. bound together. Leipzig: Breitkopf, [1794].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.657.12 BMEO.

Includes inserted typewritten slip indicating that this is the first edition of the piano-vocal score. Italian-German text.

Merritt Room Mus 745.1.657.12 PHI.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. German & Italian. Selections. [Cosi fan tutte (Weibertreue). Opere comica per il Forte-Piano dal Sigr. W. A. Mozart.] Vienna: T. Mollo e Comp., [1798].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.661.7 BMEO.

K. 588. VN 1058. Ref.: RISM M 4718; Köchel, 6th ed., 670. In 1798 T. Mollo & Co. took over the series "Raccolta d'arie..." from an earlier publication by Artaria. The selections from Così, listed in Weinmann's Verlagsverzeichnis Tranquillo Mollo (Vienna: Universal Edition, 1964), 22, appear here as follows: PN:58: Overture, arranged for piano (see below); PN:59: No. 4, Duetto: "Ah guarda sorella"; PN:60: No. 7, Duettino: "Al fato dan legge"; PN:61: No. 8, Coro: "Bella vita militar"; PN:62: No. 15, Aria: "Non siate ritrosi"; PN:63: No. 19, Aria: "Una donna a quindici anni"; PN:64: No. 20, Duettino: "Prenderò quel brunettino"; PN:65: No. 23, Duetto: "Il core vi dono"; PN:66: No. 28: Aria: "E amore un ladroncello". Bound together with Mozart, Ouvertura per il Clavicembalo dell'Opera Cosi Fan Tutte del Sigr. Mozart. Vienna: T. Mollo e Comp., [1798]. [K. 588] (PN:58, see above).

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Così fan tutte, o sia la scuola degli amanti. Weibertreue, oder die Mädchen sind von Flandern. Eine komische Oper in 2 Ackten, von W. A. Mozart. Im Klavierauszuge von C. G. Neefe.] Bonn: N. Simrock, [1799].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.657.14 BMEO.

VN 91. Pr: Fr[ancs]: 24. Italian-German text. Ref.: Hirsch IV, 164; RISM M 4695; Köchel, 6th ed., 670.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. [Così fan tutte. Opera in 2 acts.] 2 vols. London: Birchall, [1817?].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.657 F.

Così fan tutte. Vocal score in Italian in 2 vols. Each act has special engraved title-page and special pagination.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Cosi fan tutte = Weibertreue, oder, Die Mädchen sind von Flandern : komische Oper in zwey Aufzügen.] Leipzig : Breitkopf und Härtel, [1819].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.657.18.

Così fan tutte. Vocal score. German & Italian. Ref.: RISM AI, M 4700.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Cosi fan tutte = Weibertreue : komische Oper in zwei Aufzügen von W.A. Mozart ; Clavier-Auszug.] Berlin: F. Weidle, [184-?].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.658.2.

Cosi fan tutte. Vocal score. German & Italian. "Stereotyp-Ausgabe."

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. German [Cosi fan tutte. Oper in 2 Akten von Mozart. Vollständiger Klavierauszug mit deutschem Text.] Opern-Bibliothek, vol. 17. Leipzig: Philipp Reclam jun., [1856].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.657.16 BMEO.

Complete keyboard reduction with German text.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Vocal score. English & Italian. [Cosi fan tutte = Women are like that : an opera in two acts libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte ; English version by Ruth and Thomas Martin, as produced by the Metropolitan Opera Company, New York, with an essay on the story of the opera by Nathan Broder.] New York: G. Schirmer, [1952].
Houghton Library *93B-435 Haverlin Collection.
Loeb Music Library Mus 745.1.657.10.

Così fan tutte. Vocal score. Italian and English words. "Vocal score, including the secco recitatives." Ed[ition] 2038. This copy lacks publisher's edition number. Original printed, ill. paper covers.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Ah! che tutta in un momento. Vocal score. Ah, che tutto in un momento : duet / by W.A. Mozart. London : Printed for G. Walker at his music warehouse, 106 Great Portland Street, [ca. 1811].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC b M1508.M84 C6 1811.

Italian words. For 2 unspecified (high and medium) voices, with original orchestral acc. arr. for harp or piano. Caption title. Publication date based on the date of the first London performance (9 May 1811) and the publisher's address (at this location from 1795-1821)--Cf. Humphries & Smith. Music publishing in the British Isles. Words by L. Da Ponte. Engraved throughout. RISM A/I, M 4738 Smith, W.C. The Italian opera and contemporary ballet in London, 1789-1820, 415 New Grove opera, III:496.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Bella serenata. Vocal score. Una bella serenata : trio nell' opera Così fan tutte / del Sigr. W. A. Mozart ; l'accompagnamento di I. B. Cimador. [London] : Printed for Monzani and Cimador, No. 2 Pall Mall, [ca. 1800].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC M1497 .M68 1802 F

Italian words. For 3 voices (TBB) and pianoforte; original acc. for orchestra. Caption title. Words by L. Da Ponte--Cf. New Grove opera. Page [1] has the series title, preceded by the phrase, "To be continued". Harvard Theatre Collection has watermark date: 1800. Engraved throughout. No. 3 in a bound collection of 15 miscellaneous opera arias and songs, published in England, mostly in the 1800s. Bound in contemporary half calf and marbled boards, spine and covers gilt, edges sprinkled blue.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Di scrivermi ogni giorno, arr. [Quintette de Cosi fan tutte de Mozart ; arrange pour violon, violoncelle, orgue et piano par Charles Gounod.] Paris: Lebeau aine, [ca. 1857].
Houghton Library *93B-313 F Haverlin Collection.

Così fan tutte. Di scrivermi ogni giorno. Arranged for violin, violoncello, organ, and piano. Publication date derived from A. Devriès and F. Lesure, Dictionnaire des editeurs de musique francais. Engraved throughout. >From the arranger's library. Bound in half black morocco and green marbled paper sides. In case, 37 cm. No. 10 in volume with 17 other compositions by Charles Gounod.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Fra gli amplessi in pochi istanti ore. Vocal score.Frà gl'amplessi in the opera of Cosi fan tutte / composed by Mozart. London : Printed & sold by Rt. Birchall, No. 133, New Bond Street, [ca. 1816].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC b M1508.M84 C6 1816 

Italian words. For two treble voices with piano; original acc. for orchestra. Caption title. Text by da Ponte--Cf. New Grove opera. Pages also numbered: 58-65. "Cosi fan tutte, Act 2"--bottom of each page. The opera was first performed at the King's Theatre, London, on 9 May 1811 and revived there on 6 June 1816--Cf. Smith, W. C. Italian opera and contemporary ballet. Engraved throughout.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Mia Dorabella. Vocal score. La mia Dorabella : trio as sung by Messrs. Viganoni, Cimador, & Rovedino at Mrs. Dussek's and Mr. Viganoni's benefit concerts / composed by Mozart ; the accompaniment for the piano forte by Mr. Cimador. London : Printed for Monzani & Cimador, music sellers to His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, No. 2 Pall Mall, [ca. 1800].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC M1497 .M68 1802 F

Italian words. Caption title. Words by L. Da Ponte--Cf. New Grove opera. Page [1] (1st count) has the series title, preceded by the phrase, "To be continued". Harvard Theatre Collection copy has watermark date: 1800. Engraved throughout. No. 4 in a bound collection of 15 miscellaneous opera arias and songs, published in England, mostly in the 1800s. Bound in contemporary half calf and marbled boards, spine and covers gilt, edges sprinkled blue.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Mia Dorabella. Vocal score. La mia Dorabella : the favorite trio in the opera Cosi fan tutti, as sung by Messrs. Viganoni, Cimador, & Rovedino / composed by W.A. Mozart. London : Printed for R. Birchall at his musical circulating library, 133 New Bond Street, [ca. 1800].
 

Merritt Room Mus 505.64.

Theatre Collection HTC-LC b M1508.M84 C6 1800.

Italian words. For 3 unspecified (2 high and 1 medium) voices, with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Words by L. Da Ponte. Harvard Theatre Collection copy has watermark date: 1800. Engraved throughout. New Grove opera, III:496.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Mia Dorabella, arr. [La mia Dorabella : the favorite trio in the opera Cosi fan tutti.] London: Birchall, [1817?].
Merritt Room Mus 505.62.

Così fan tutte. Mia Dorabella. Arranged for three voices and piano. Bound with P. I. Begrez, Amplessi soavi, et al.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Cosi fan tutte. Ouverture [Ouverture à grand orchestre de l'opéra: Cosi fan tutte. Oeuvre 80me.] Offenbach s/m, Chés J. André [1799]
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.662.15

Cosi fan tutte. Ouverture. 18 parts. For 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani, and strings. The horn and trumpet parts are each printed together; the 2nd clarinet and timpani parts are printed together; the bassoon parts are score together. RISM, M4706.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Prenderò quel brunettino. Vocal score. Prendero quel brunettino : a favorite duet sung by Sigr. Cimador and Sigr. Viganoni in both public and private concerts / composed by W.A. Mozart. London : Printed & sold by Rt. Birchall at his musical circulating library, 133 New Bond Street, [between 1790 and 1819].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC b M1508.M84 C6 1790.

Mozarts duett. Italian words. For 2 voices and keyboard instrument; original acc. for orchestra. Caption title. Words by L. Da Ponte; premiered in Vienna, 26 January 1790--Cf. New Grove opera. Publisher was at this address from 1789 to 1819. Engraved throughout. Music publishing in the British Isles, p. 74.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Così fan tutte. Soave sia il vento, arr. [Soave sia il vento; a favorite trio in the opera of Cosi fan tutte.] London: Birchall [182-].
Merritt Room Mus 505.55.

Così fan tutte. Soave sia il vento. Arranged. Bound with Giuseppe Sarti, Fra i due litiganti il terzo gode, selections: Che vi par Dorina bella, et al.