Resources for Mozart research

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. German & Italian [La nozzi di Figaro : Opera in due atti / del Sigr. W.A. Mozart]. [late 18th or early 19th century].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.639.14

Manuscript. Written in several hands on paper with Strasburg Lily watermark.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. [Le nozze di Figaro, dramma giocoso in quattro atti.] Paris, Au Magasin de Musique [1810?].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.634 PHI

Le nozze di Figaro. First edition of full score. Text in French and Italian.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Le Nozze di Figaro. Polyglot. [Le Nozze di Figaro. Dramma giocoso in quattro atti. Messo in Musica dal Signore W. A. Mozart.] 4 vols. Bonna e Colonia, presso N. Simrock, [1819].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.630.5 BMEO.

This beautifully engraved BMEO copy of the full score, bound in contemporary boards, shows that it was used for a performance in German where the conductor indicated last word cues of the Italian recitatives by inserting German translations in his own hand. Previous owner (conductor?): Maurits Sillem. Italian-German-French text (recitatives in Italian only). Ref.: Hirsch II, 659 (listed there as First Edition); RISM M 4342; Köchel, 6th ed., 545. Prezzo 70 Francs. VN 1603. Haberkamp (261) notes that a copy of the Imbault First Edition (1795) has not been found in Paris. This early Simrock edition should at least be considered as one of the first. There is more research to be done. As a supplement, the aria "Al desio, di chi t'adora" is printed at the end of volume 4; this aria is listed separately by Köchel, 6th ed., as K. 577 (details are explained under the piano score first edition elsewhere in this BMEO catalog). Also c.f. Paul Hirsch, "More Early Mozart Editions," Music Review 3 (1942), 44. However, this supplemental aria is not marked "La Contessa", as Hirsch claims. Ref.: RISM A/I, M 4342.

Houghton Library *93B-443 F Haverlin Collection.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Full score. 502 page. French, German, and Italian words. Libretto, by Lorenzo Da Ponte, based on Beaumarchais's Le mariage de Figaro. Publication date derived from O.E. Deutsch, music publishers' numbers. First issue of the first German edition of the full score. Plate number on title page. Stamp of T. Boosey & Co., 28 Holles St., Oxford St. [London] on title page. Bound in half green morocco with marbled endpapers. Ref.: RISM A/I, M 4342.

Merritt Room Mus 745.1.630.5.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Le Nozze de[!] Figaro. Die Hochzeit des Figaro. Eine Comische Oper in 4. Aufzügen. In Musick gesetzt von W. A. Mozart. Ins Deutsche übersetzt vom Baron v. Knigge. Und fürs Clavier eingerichtet von C. G. Neefe.] Bonn: Nicolaus Simrock, [1796].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.629 (B) BMEO.

FIRST EDITION of the piano-vocal score. Italian and German text. Engraved title frame. Ref.: Haberkamp, 259; Hirsch IV, 99; RISM M 4343; Köchel, 6th ed., 545. 228 pages. VN 28. pr: Fl.11. This first edition includes as no. 30 on pp. 223-228. Mozart's additional aria (rondo) "Al desio di chi t'adora", written for Adriana Ferraresi del Bene (entered by him in his own Verzeichnüss as no. 109), and separately listed in the Köchel catalog as K. 577. It is here assigned to the Countess but was most likely meant for Susanna as a replacement for "Deh vieni."

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Le nozze di figaro = Figaro’s Hochzeit : komische Oper in vier Aufzügen ; Klavierauszug.] Leipzig : Breitkopf & Härtel, [1819].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.639.12  

Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte, based on the play by Beaumarchais. Cf. Grove. Personaggi, p. [3]. RISM, M/MM 4350.
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.629.

Le nozze di Figaro. Vocal score in German and Italian. FIRST EDITION of the piano-vocal score. Libretto by Lorenzo da Ponte after Beaumarchais. Includes as no. 30 Mozart's aria "Al desio di chi t'adora", K. 577. Simrock no. 28. Ref.: RISM A/I, M 4343; Haberkamp, I: 257-61. Another copy held in BMEO.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro, arr. [La noce de Figaro= Die Hochzeit des Figaro: opéra de W A Mozart ; arrangée en quartetti a deux violons, alto & violoncelle.] Bonn: N. Simrock, [1800?].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.636.11.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Arranged for string quartet. 4 parts in 2 volumes bound in one. "Diese Oper ist hier ganz vollständig in Quartetten übertragen, die den doppelten Vortheil verbinden, dass sie 1ts als Quartetten für sich die Verehrer der Mozartschen Muse befriedigen; aber auch 2ts als Begleitung des Gesänges statt der Instrumentstimmen, entweder allein, oder auch mit dem Klavierauszug gebraucht werden können." Plate no. 106, 148. Ref.: RISM AI, M 4441.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Le nozze di Figaro. Die Hochzeit des Figaro; eine comische Oper in vier Aufzugen. Clavier-Auszug.] Hamburg: I. A. Bohme [1805?].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.629.5.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. Libretto by Lorenzo Da Ponte, after Beaumarchais' Le mariage de Figaro. Ref.: RISM AI, M 4351.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Le nozze di Figaro: dramma giocoso in quattro atti posto in musica et [sic] ridotto per il cembalo da W. A. Mozart.] Paris: Maurice Schlesinger, [1822].
Houghton Library Typ 815.22.5821 F.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. "Text by L. da Ponte (founded on Beaumarchais's comedy, La folle Journee, ou Le Mariage de Figaro." Cf. Loewenberg. Annals of opera. Probably published in 1822. Cf. Cecil Hopkinson. A dictionary of Parisian music publishers 1700-1950. Ex libris: Anton Kottenbach (stamp).

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Figaro's Hochzeit : komische Oper in vier Aufzügen / von W.A. Mozart ; Clavier-Auszug mit ital. u. deutsch Texte.] [2. Aufl.] Braunschweig : G.M. Meyer, [1832?]
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.646.9

Le nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. Italian and German words. Additional aria for the Countess: Al desio (Kehre wieder): p. 220-224. Libretto by L. Da Ponte, based on Beaumarchais' La folle journée, ou Le mariage de Figaro. Cf. Loewenberg. Annals of opera. RISM, M4353.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. German & Italian. [Die Hochzeit des Figaro : komische Oper in vier Aufzügen = Le nozze di Figaro : dramma giocoso in quattro atti / von W. A. Mozart ; Clavierauszug.] Cöln : P.J. Simrock, [183-?]
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.646.3

Le nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. Bound with his Don Juan. Cöln : P.J. Simrock, 183-?

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. [Le nozze di Figaro.] London: R. Birchall, [18--].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.638 F.

Le nozze di Figaro. Vocal score in Italian. Each act has special engraved title-page and special pagination.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. English & Italian. [The marriage of Figaro: (Le nozze di Figaro): comic opera in four acts by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart; words by Lorenzo da Ponte after Beaumarchais' La folle journée ou Le marriage de Figaro; English version by Edward J. Dent; vocal score by Erwin Stein.] London and New York: Boosey & Hawkes, c1947.
Houghton Library *93B-444 Haverlin Collection.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Vocal score. Words in English and Italian.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Cinque, dieci, venti. Vocal score. Cinque, dieci, venti, trenta : duetto nelle Nozze di Figaro / composed by Mozart. London : Printed & sold by Rt. Birchall, No. 133 New Bond Street, [ca. 1812].
Theatre Collection b M1508.M84 1812c.INFO

Italian words. For two voices (SB) with piano; original acc. for orchestra. Caption title. Text by da Ponte--Cf. New Grove opera. "Le Nozze di Figaro, Act 1"--bottom of each page. The opera was first performed in its entirety in London at the King's Theatre on 18 June 1812--Cf. Italian opera and contemporary ballet. Engraved throughout.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Crudel! perchè finora. Vocal score. Crudel, perchè finora : duetto, in the opera of Le nozze di Figaro / composed by Mozart. London : Printed for Rt. Birchall, 133, New Bond Street, [ca. 1812].
Theatre Collection b M1508.M84 N6 1812.

Italian words. For 2 unspecified (high and medium) voices, with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Words by L. Da Ponte. "Le Nozze di Figaro. Act 2"--bottom of each page. The opera was first performed in its entirety in London at the King's Theatre on 18 June 1812. Singers' roles named in the score: Susanna and Il Conte. Engraved throughout. Smith, W.C. The Italian opera and contemporary ballet in London, 1789-1820, 438.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Crudel! perchè finora. Vocal score. Crudel, perchè finora : duetto, in the opera of Le nozze di Figaro / composed by Mozart. London : Printed for H. Falkner, 3 Old Bond Street, [ca. 1816].
Theatre Collection b M1508.M84 N6 1816.HOURS & INFO

Italian words. For 2 unspecified (high and medium) voices, with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Publication date based on the watermark date on the Harvard Theatre Collection copy (1815) and the publisher's address (at this location from 1816-1844)--Cf. Humphries & Smith. Music publishing in the British Isles. Words by L. Da Ponte. "Le Nozze di Figaro. (Act 2.)"--bottom of each page. The opera was first performed in its entirety in London on 18 June 1812 at the King's Theatre. Singers' roles named in the score: Sussanna and Il Conte. Engraved throughout.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Deh vieni, non tardar, arr. [Deh vieni, non tardar; recitativo e cavatina nelle Nozze di Figaro.] [London]: Monzani & Cimador [180-?].
Merritt Room Mus 505.58.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Deh vieni, non tardar, arranged. "No. 155". Bound with G.G. Ferrari. Rinaldo d'Asti. Selections: In amor ci vuol pazienza, et al.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Dove sono? Vocal score. E Susanna non vien? : recitativo : e Dove sono i bei momenti : aria, in the opera of Le nozze di Figaro / composed by Mozart. London : Printed for Rt. Birchall, 133, New Bond Strt., [ca. 1812].
Theatre Collection b M1508.M84 N6 1812a.

Italian words. Recitative and aria, for unspecified (medium) voice with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Pages also numbered 25-30. "Le Nozze di Figaro. Act 2"--bottom of each page. The opera was first performed in London in its entirety on 18 June 1812 at the King's Theatre. Words by L. Da Ponte. Singer's role named in the score: Contessa. Engraved throughout. Smith, W.C. The Italian opera and contemporary ballet in London, 1789-1820, 438.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Dove sono? Vocal score. E Susanna non vien? : recitativo : e Dove sono i bei momenti : aria, in the opera of Le nozze di Figaro / composed by Mozart. London : Printed for Rt. Birchall, 140, New Bond Strt., [betewen 1824 and 1829].
Theatre Collection b M1508.M84 N6 1824.

Italian words. Recitative and aria, for unspecified (medium) voice with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Publication date based on the publisher's address (Robert Birchall's successor, Birchall & Co., at this location from ca. 1824-1829)--Cf. Humphries & Smith. Music publishing in the British Isles. Pages also numbered 25-30. Words by L. Da Ponte. "Le Nozze di Figaro. Act 2"--bottom of each page. The opera was first performed in its entirety in London on 18 June 1812. Singer's role named in the score: Contessa. Engraved throughout. Indexes : Smith, W.C. The Italian opera and contemporary ballet in London, 1789-1820, 438.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Non più andrai. Vocal score. Non più andrai : a favorite Italian song : sung with universal applause by Sigr. Morelli at the King's Theatre, Haymarket and the Hanover Square Concerts / composed by Sigr. Mozart. [London] : Printed by Longman and Broderip, no. 26 Cheapside and no. 13 Haymarket, [ca. 1793].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC M1497.M68 1787 F.

Italian text. For unspecified treble voice with original orchestra acc. arr. for keyboard instrument. Caption title. Mostly scored on 3 staves; partially on 2 staves. Text by L. Da Ponte. Morelli sang the aria on 28 March 1792 and 15 February 1793 at the King's Theatre and 8 March 1773 at the Haymarket Theatre, London. Engraved throughout. London stage, 1660-1800, pt. 5, p. 1441, 1520, 1528.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Non sò più cosa son. Vocal score. Non so più cosa son, cosa faccio : aria, in the opera of Le nozze di Figaro / composed by Mozart. London : Printed for Rt. Birchall, 133 New Bond Street, [ca. 1812].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC M1508.M84 N6 1812b.

Italian words. For unspecified (high) voice with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Words by L. Da Ponte. Pages also numbered 33-36. "Le Nozze di Figaro, Act 1"--bottom of each page. The opera was first performed in its entirety in London on 18 June 1812 at the King's Theatre. Singer's role named in the score: Cherubino. Engraved throughout. Smith, W.C. The Italian opera and contemporary ballet in London, 1789-1820, 438.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Ouverture. [Symph: IV.] [London, Printed by Cianchettini & Sperati, 1807?]
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.54.39.4

Series: Compleat collection of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven's symphonies, in score, 16. Bound with his Symphonies, K. 543, et al.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Selections; arr. [Le nozze di Figaro. Figaros Hochzeit. Drama per musica di W. A. Mozart. Ridotta per pianoforte e violino obl. per Carlo Zulehner.] In Lipsia: Presso Federigo Hofmeister; A Bonn: Chez N. Simrock, [181-?].
Merritt Room Mus 745.1.637.3.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Selections, arr. F. Hofmeister no. 344. 2 vols. in 1 of music. For piano; part for violin lacking? Second imprint from label covering original imprint.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Sull'aria. Vocal score. Su l'aria : a favorite duett, as sung by Madme. Banti & Sigr. Viganoni, in the comic opera of Il consiglio imprudente / by Mozart. London : Published by G. Walker at his music warehouse, 106 Gt. Portland Street, [ca. 1815].
Theatre Collection HTC-LC b M1508.M84 N6 1815.

Italian words. For 2 unspecified voices (high) with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. "Su L'aria"--bottom of each page. Words by L. Da Ponte. Harvard Theatre Collection copy has watermark date: 1815. The duet was probably inserted into a performance of F. Bianchi's Consiglio imprudente, which was performed during the 1801 season at the King's Theatre, London; Viganoni and Banti sang in the production--Cf. Smith, W.C. The Italian opera and contemporary ballet in London, 1789-1820. Le nozze di Figaro was first performed in its entirety in London at the King's Theatre, Haymarket, on 18 June 1812. Engraved throughout.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Voi, che sapete. Vocal score. Voi, che sapete, che cosa è amor : aria, in the opera of Le nozze di Figaro / composed by Mozart. London : Published by G. Walker, publisher of books and music, 105 and 106 Great Portland Street, [ca. 1813].
Theatre Collection b HTC-LC M1508.M84 N6 1813.

Italian words. For unspecified voice (high) with original orchestral acc. arr. for piano. Caption title. Harvard Theatre Collection copy has watermark date: 1813. Words by L. Da Ponte. Nozze di Figaro was first performed in London in its entirety at the King's Theatre, Haymarket, on 18 June 1812. Engraved throughout.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Nozze di Figaro. Voi che sapete. Vocal score. ["Voi che sapete" arranged by Otto Dresel; Dec. 5th 1877.] [Boston]: 1877 Dec. 5.
Houghton Library b MS Mus 222.3.

Le Nozze di Figaro. Voi che sapete. 1 manuscript vocal score. 3 leaves, 34 cm. In the hand of Otto Dresel, signed. Fair copy, with corrections and revisions in pen and pencil. Words by Lorenzo Da Ponte, after P.A.C. de Beaumarchais. See D.F. Urrows, "Otto Dresel: New Manuscript Sources," in The Sonneck Society for American Music Bulletin no. XXIII,2 (1997), p. 39-41. In Italian.