Primary Source Collections
Harvard-specific African American History
- The guide African and African American Studies at Harvard: Historical Sources contains archival sources about the development of African and African American studies at Harvard.
- The guide The Black Student Experience at Harvard: historical sources contains archival sources about the experience of Black students at Harvard.
General African American History
Online collections
Umbra Search - a digital library of African American history
Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922 from the Library Company of Philadelphia (part of America's historical imprints) (Harvard login)
Black abolitionist papers (1830-1865) (Harvard login)
Black thought and culture: African Americans to 1975 (Harvard login)
ProQuest History Vault Black Freedom Struggle I (1901-1975): (Harvard login) 37 collections from the records of U.S. federal government agencies, including Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice,1901-1945; Department of Justice Classified Subject Files on Civil Rights, 1914-1949; New Deal Agencies and Black America; Records of the Tuskegee Airmen; President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights. Includes index to microform edition of Papers of the NAACP.
African American Communities contains newspapers, oral histories, records, pamphlets, photographs, and other primary source materials from African American communities (mostly from Atlanta, Chicago, New York, St. Louis, and areas of North Carolina).
Archival & microfilm collections
Black Panther printed ephemera, circa 1966-2006 - Houghton Library
Black Panther documents (aka Huey P. Newton microfilm collection) - partially digitized by Stanford as the Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation Inc. collection, 1968 -1994
