Search library catalogs and databases, from general to specialized
-
Annual Reviews (Harvard Login)State-of-the-art overviews written by experts in the field, offering context, background, and references to seminal texts in one convenient location. Covers, among many other disciplines, political science, law and social science, and psychology.
-
Oxford Bibliographies (Harvard Login)Concise, continuously updated bibliographies on a wide range of topics covering a broad range of disciplines in the social sciences and humanities, including political science, psychology, and sociology.
-
Oxford Handbooks: Political Science (Harvard Login)Review essays that evaluate the current thinking on various areas of political science, e.g. elections, political behavior, or national security.
Note: Not all books listed on this page may be accessible; check for the green unlocked symbol next to the title. -
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics (Harvard Login)Provides detailed synopses of major research problems and themes in political science and public policy, with extensive bibliographies. Areas of focus include political economy, public administration, and political communication.
The place to start searching for books (both print and electronic) is Harvard's library catalog, HOLLIS:
Search tips:
- Sign in to HOLLIS with your Harvard Key for the most complete results and a more streamlined user experience.
- Use the "Library Catalog" search option (not "Everything") if you're looking specifically for books, journals, or previous PAEs.
- Use filters and facets to refine your search results if necessary, or use the advanced search option for more targeted searches.
For scholarly articles, start with one or several of our broad, multi-disciplinary databases:
-
Academic Search Premier (Harvard Login) Multidisciplinary database covering primarily the social sciences and humanities, with decent coverage of the sciences. Full text access may not be available for all citations; click on the "Try Harvard Library" links to check if full text is available elsewhere.
-
Google Scholar Harvests citation metadata (and some full text) of scholarly literature from a broad range of publisher websites, institutional repositories, etc.; for maximum utility, link your Harvard Library affiliation to Google Scholar.
-
Social Science Premium Collection (Harvard Login) Comprehensive database of social science scholarship, covering the disciplines of political science, sociology, criminology, education, linguistics, and information science.
-
Web of Science (Harvard Login) Multidisciplinary database containing citations of primarily science and social science scholarship; particularly helpful for citation analysis. Click on the "Try Harvard Library" links to find the full text of an article.
We particularly recommend the Social Science Premium Collection because it contains several databases highly relevant to political and policy research, e.g. PAIS (Public Affairs Information System) and IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences).
Also be sure to check more specialized resources on the "specialized resources" tab.
- American Presidency
- Campaigns & Elections
- Legal Research for HKS Affiliates
- National & International Security
- News Sources & Media Studies
- Public Policy & Public Administration
- Urban Studies & Urban Policy
- U.S. Federal Government Resources
- U.S. State & Local Government Resources
- Country Information Sources
- History Resources for Policymakers
- Daniel's e-mail or meeting scheduler
- E-mail all librarians
Policy papers and other gray literature
First, try our HKS Think Tank Search, a custom Google search across the websites of 1,200+ U.S. and international think tanks. Simply search using standard Google conventions (i.e. putting quotation marks around phrases).
Also of interest:
-
Policy File Index (Harvard Login)Abstracts of and links to domestic and international public policy research published by think tanks, university programs, and other research organizations.
-
SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkContains working papers in social science, law and business/economics fields. Registration is required.
Most past PAEs can be discovered in HOLLIS. If you know the title and/or author, you can use these to search for the PAE. You can also enter "policy analysis exercise" (using quotes) in your search and add keywords to find relevant PAEs.
Here are some example searches including keywords:
Starting with the MPP class of 2020, PAEs are available electronically. Earlier PAEs can be requested in print using the "request pickup" option on their respective HOLLIS record; they will be delivered to the HKS Library and can be used in the library only.