Research Guide for Primary Sources on Civil Rights

Negro yearbook. Tuskegee Institute, Ala. : Negro Year Book Pub. Co., 1914-1952(?)
HOLLIS Record
--Continues: Negro year book and annual encyclopedia of the Negro. Tuskegee, Alb.: Monroe N. Work, [1912-1913] 2 v.
--HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust 1912-1922
In Internet Archive 1931-1932 --  1937-1938  --  1947  -- 1952

The Negro handbook. NY: Current Reference Publications, 1942-1949
Vol. for 1944 called also 2nd year of publication; vols. for 1946/1947-<1949> called also 3rd issue-<4th issue>
HOLLIS Record
Full text

These two series include directory information and summaries of events

Bibliography:  The Harvard guide to African-American history, ed. by Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham et al. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2001, 923 p. + 1 computer optical disc Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | E185 .H326 2001 CD-ROM in pocket of inside back cover.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text  Borrow "Unavailable", but you can search within and be taken to the full text of resulting pages.

Guide to African American and African primary sources at Harvard University, by Barbara A. Burg, Richard Newman, Elizabeth E. Sandager. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 2000, 217 p
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive full text

Revealing documents: a guide to African American manuscript sources in the Schlesinger Library and the Radcliffe College Archives, by Susan J. von Salis. Boston : G.K. Hall, 1993, 174 p.
HOLLIS Record

Anthologies of African American Writing, Lists and indexes anthologies, often citing notices and reviews, with illustrative material.

Black list; the concise reference guide to publications and broadcasting media of Black America, Africa and the Caribbean. New York, Panther House, 1970, 289 p.
HOLLIS Record

The Black resource guide. Washington, D.C.: Ben Johnson, 1981-[1994], 1981-10th ed. (1993-94).
HOLLIS Record

African-American Studies Center: Historical and contemporary information documenting African diaspora and African American history and experience. Includes encyclopedias and other reference works covering all aspects of the African American past. Best place to begin research.

Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history: the Black experience in the Americas, ed. by Colin A. Palmer. 2nd ed. Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. 6 v.
Lamont  |  REFERENCE    |  E185 .E54 2006 
Widener  |  RR 4781.44.5

African American Studies Center includes encyclopedias and other reference works covering all aspects of the African American past, including: 
--Africana
--Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
--Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present|Black Women in America, Second Edition
--African American National Biography

Encyclopedia of Black folklore and humor, ed. by Henry D. Spalding. Middle Village, NY: J. David Publishers, 1990, 523 p.
Widener WID-LC PN6231.N5 S6 1990
001980815 

Encyclopedia of slave resistance and rebellion, ed. by Junius P. Rodriguez. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007. 2 v.
Widener | WID-LC | E447 .E53 2007

Slavery in the United States: a social, political, and historical encyclopedia, ed. by Junius P. Rodriguez. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2007. 2 v.
Widener | RR 4781.41.90

The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American civil rights: from emancipation to the twenty-first century, ed. by Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek. 2nd ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003, 2 v.
Widener | RR 4781.41.52

Racial justice in America: a reference handbook, by David B. Mustard. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2003, 271 p.
Gutman Education | E185 .M95 2003
Law School | Harvard Depository | E185 .M95 2003
Widener | WID-LC | E185 .M95 2003

Chronologies

African American almanac: day-by-day Black history, by Leon T. Ross and Kenneth A. Mimms. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1997, 177 p.
Widener | WID-LC | E185 .R815 1997x

Bibliographies

Look for specialized subject bibliographies in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search <African Americans civil rights [Keyword search] and bibliography [Subject  search] on Advanced Search screen.

The 1960s: an annotated bibliography of social and political movements in the United States, by Rebecca Jackson. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992, 237 p.
Lamont | HN59.Z99 J33 1992x
Widener | WID-LC | HN59.Z99 J33 1992

Black immigration and ethnicity in the United States: an annotated bibliography. Center for Afroamerican and African Studies, the University of Michigan. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1985, 170 p.
HOLLIS Record

Blacks in Canada: in search of the promise: a bibliographical guide to the history of Blacks in Canada, by Francine Govia, Helen Lewis. Edmonton, AB, Canada: Harambee Centres Canada, 1988, 102 p.
HOLLIS Record

Blacks in the American West and beyond--America, Canada, and Mexico: a selectively annotated bibliography, by George H. Junne, Jr. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2000, 686 p.
HOLLIS Record

The history of Blacks in Canada: a selectively annotated bibliography, by George H. Junne, Jr. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003, 412 p.
HOLLIS Record 

West Indian Americans: a research guide, by Guy T. Westmoreland, Jr. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2001, 143 p.
HOLLIS Record