Statistics Sources
The Government Documents/Microforms Collection is the primary location for statistics produced by the U.S. and other governments and by international organizations. Many reference sources for statistics of all kinds are located there.
HOLLIS records of books containing largely statistics bear the term Statistics attached to their subject headings, e.g., African Americans Suffrage History Statistics.
Negro population, by County: 1960 and 1950. Washington, D. C. : U. S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census ; 1966.
--Includes state-level statistics
Social and Economic Conditions of Negroes in the United States. Washington, D. C. : U. S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, October 1967 Rrport No. P23-24
Vital statistics rates in the United States, 1940-1960, by Robert D. Grove and Alice M. Hetz
HathiTrust Version
Historical statistics of Black America, by Jessie Carney Smith and Carrell Peterson Horton. New York : Gale Research, 1995. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text (Vol. 1 only)
Black Americans, a statistical sourcebook. Boulder, Colo.: Numbers & Concepts, 1990-2009
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
Black stats: African Americans by the numbers in the twenty-first century, by Monique W. Morris. New York: The New Press, 2014, 217 pages
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text
Statistical record of Black America.1st ed.-4th ed. Detroit : Gale Research, 1990-1997. 4 v.
HOLLIS Record (Available online)
The African American electorate: a statistical history, by Hanes Walton, Sherman C. Puckett, Donald R. Deskins. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : CQ Press, 2012. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
The African American education data book, by Michael T. Nettles, Laura W. Perna. Fairfax, VA: Frederick D. Patterson Research Institute of the College Fund/UNCF, 3 v. 1997-
HOLLIS Record
Race of prisoners admitted to state and federal institutions, 1926-1986, by Patrick A. Langan. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Statistics, 1991, iv, 54 p.
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust Version
General Resources
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS)
Statistical abstract of the United States, prepared by the chief of the Bureau of Statistics, Treasury Department. Washington, 1879-
Proquest (2013-present),
LLMC (1916-2006)
Hathitrust (1878-2012)
HOLLIS Record.
The Municipal year book, 1934- . Washington: International City Management Association.
HOLLIS Record
County and city data book. U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1952- .
Latest edition in Reference; backfile in stacks.
HOLLIS Record
Online version
Research Guides
United States Census Data Resources (Research Guide)
Guides to Data Resources (Open Subject, scroll down to the Statistics & Data option)