Digital Libraries and Collections
Catalog Searches:
Digital Public Library of America
Umbra Search is a search engine for African American digitized materials in numerous repositories
WorldCat includes catalog records from thousands of libraries worldwide but largely U.S. Includes books, periodicals, archives and manuscripts, maps, videotapes, computer readable files, etc. Includes Boston-area libraries. Public version.
Full Text Searches:
In HathiTrust Full Text Advanced Search, you can do a full text search over the whole collection of millions of books and journals or over a subset defined by Title (useful for periodicals), Author, Subject, or Publisher. If you limit your search to the 1960s (or whatever) and to Full View, you will retrieve largely government documents. Full text of copyrighted material is not viewable. Phrases rather than combinations of separate words, work best.
Local Projects
Digital Libraries by State or Region
250+ Killer Digital Libraries and Archives
Lists of Digital Collections
Civil Rights Movement Web Links
Digital Collections
Civil rights and social justice includes Congressional hearings and committee prints, legislative histories, CRS and GAO reports, Supreme Court briefs, and Commission on Civil Rights publications concerning minorities, LGBTQ, and disabled civil rights. Also: scholarly article bibliography, books on civil rights topics, and list of civil rights organizations.
ProQuest History Vault Black Freedom Struggle (1901-1975) includes:
Federal Records
- African Americans in the Military
- Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929
- Centers of the Southern Struggle: FBI Files on Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis
- Civil Rights during the Bush Administration
- Civil Rights during the Carter Administration, 1977-1981
- Civil Rights during the Eisenhower Administration
- Civil Rights during the Johnson Administration, 1963-1969
- Civil Rights during the Kennedy Administration, 1961-1963
- Civil Rights during the Nixon Administration, 1969-1974
- Civil Rights Movement and the Federal Government, Records of the Interstate Commerce Commission on Discrimination in Transportation, 1961-1970
- Civil Rights Movement and the Federal Government: Records of the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division, 1958-1973
- Civil Rights Movement and the Federal Government: Records of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, Police-Community Relations in Urban Areas, 1954-1966
- Civil Rights Movement and the Federal Government: Records of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, School Desegregation in the South, 1965-1966
- Civil Rights Movement and the Federal Government: Records of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, Special Projects, 1960-1970
- Department of Justice Classified Subject Files on Civil Rights, 1914-1949
- East St. Louis Riot of 1917
- FBI Files on Black Extremist Organizations
- Federal Surveillance of Afro-Americans (1917-1925): The First World War, the Red Scare, and the Garvey Movement
- Martin Luther King Jr. FBI File
- New Deal Agencies and Black America
- Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945
- President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights
- Records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practices, Part 1: Racial Tension File, 1943-1945
- Records of the Tuskegee Airmen, Part 1: Records of the Army Air Forces
- Civil Rights during the Ford Administration: Subject Files of Assistant Attorney General J. Stanley Pottinger (1973-1977) and Special Assistant Anne Clarke (1974-1977)
- Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration
Personal Papers and Organizational Records
- Bayard Rustin Papers
- Mary McLeod Bethune Papers
- Papers of A. Philip Randolph
- Records of the American Committee on Africa
- Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters
- Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992
- Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970
- The Black Power Movement: Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement, 1962-1996
- The Black Power Movement: The League of Revolutionary Black Workers, 1965-1976
- Black Power Movement, Part 2: The Papers of Robert F. Williams
- The Claude A. Barnett Papers: The Associated Negro Press, 1918-1967
- Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968
- Congress of Racial Equality Papers, 1941-1967
- Midwest Academy (Chicago, Illinois) Records, Heather Booth's Personal Files, 1964 and 1984
- Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972
Black Empowerment and Unitarian Universalism (1960s-1970s)
Black Thought and Culture (ca. 1840-1975) includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches and interviews written by leaders within the black community.
Civil Rights Digital Library. Lots of film
Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia
Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive Hattiesburg (Note Hattiesburg under places in left hand column)
Discovering American Women's History Online
Internet History Sourcebooks Project: Modern Social Movements
James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi (Archives Unbound)presents FBI documentation of Meredith’s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Includes Meredith's correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia
Land of (Unequal) Opportunity: Documenting the Civil Rights Struggle in Arkansas
Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America
March on Milwaukee. Civil Rights History Project. (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries
Memphis and the Mid-South collections include Crossroads to Freedom (Memphis) About the collections.
Mississippi Freedom Summer Project 1964 digital collection
Race & Place: An African American Community in the Jim Crow South Charlottesville,Virginia
Rochester Black Freedom Struggle Online Project.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007 is a "portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world.
Sovereignty Commission Online (Mississippi)
Women and Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000 offers journal articles, manuscripts, books, pamphlets, bibliographies, images, and other sources.
Boston
Truth, Learning, and Change: Racism and Class Literacy Education in Boston
Boston School Desegregation bibliography
Boston Black United Front (Roxbury Community College Library) Other collections
Migration:
In Motion: The African American Migration Experience (New York Public Library)
Migrations: The African-American Mosaic (Library of Congress)
North By South: The African American Great Migration (Kenyon University).
The Southern Diaspora: How The Great Migrations of Black and White Southerners Transformed America.
--Derived from: The southern diaspora : how the great migrations of Black and White Southerners transformed America, by James N. Gregory. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, 2005, 446 p.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text