Finding Newspaper Articles
Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes contains more information on finding newspapers and newspaper articles.
NewspaperARCHIVE offers numerous newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains many small-city newspapers.
Birmingham assorted newspaper clippings (Birmingham Public Library)
- Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
- Austin American Statesman (1871-1977)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1991)
- Boston Globe (1872-1985). The ProQuest Boston Globe (1980- ) is available to Massachusetts residents. Scroll down to Boston Globe.
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1993)
- Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
- Hartford Courant (1764-1991)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1993)
- New York Times (1851-2013)
- New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962)
- Newsday (1940-1988)
- Wall Street Journal (1889-1994): 1889-1922; 1923-1996
- Washington Post (1877-2000)
Search all ProQuest news sources using: Proquest News & Newspapers. Search across all newspapers, or select a custom group of titles to search across, rather than searching just one title.
America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-1993) (Readex) offers full text of over a thousand U.S. newspapers. Includes all papers listed in the standard History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820, by Clarence S. Brigham. Although a very rich resource, many important newspapers, especially for the later years, are not included. Now includes several post-1922 papers; title list (In Quick Facts & Overview box on the right).
- AFRICAN-AMERICAN STUDIES: Newspaper Research - Strategies & Sources
- Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971) in America’s Historical Newspapers. Title list (In Quick Facts & Overview box on the right). The titles marked Forthcoming are in fact available now.
Ethnic NewsWatch (1959- ) offers full-text of 90 newspapers and other periodicals (1990- ) and of 30 African American, Hispanic American, and Native American newspapers and other periodicals (1959-1989). Includes book/film/television reviews. Lists of periodicals by ethnicity. Covers:
- African American
- Arab American
- Asian American
- European American
- Native American
ProQuest Historical Newspapers include illustrations, editorials, and advertising. African-American papers are listed below.
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
All or several of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers can be searched at once from the ProQuest Databases page: from any of the individual ProQuest Historical Newspapers pages, hit the "Searching; 1 database" link, scroll down to the ProQuest Historical Newspapers section and select the ones you want.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 includes 270 newspapers from 36 states. It is a subset of America's Historical Newspapers (Readex).
There are numerous local digitization projects. Even where payment is required for full text, searching is often free.
Try searching for your title in the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
PastPages offers front pages from news sites. Pages are archived hourly.
Newspaper Research Links offers state/province lists of digitized newspaper projects
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) for newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
- ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers - Newspaper digitization projects.
- List of online newspaper archives.(Wikipedia)
- Historical Newspapers Online: A guide to free Internet sources of historical newspapers.
- Newspaper Archive Sources on the Web
- Directory of Historical Newspapers on the Internet
- Historical Newspapers Online (University of Pennsylvania)
- Historical Newspapers Online (University of Illinois)
- Online Historical Newspapers
AP Multimedia Archive (AccuNet) is a searchable database of over 700,000 Associated Press photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present.
Information on Newspapers
N.W. Ayer & Son's directory of newspapers and periodicals [title varies], 1880-1982.
LOCATION: Widener: AL 6.3 (1880-1881, 1903, 1905, 1907, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1917, 1919-1923, 1926-1929, 1931-1932, 1934-1935, 1938-1969, 1970-1982))
In a section (usually called Lists, Classifications or Subject Indexes) after the main geographical sequence are lists of agricultural, college, foreign language, Black (early called colored, then Negro), religious, fraternal (early called secret societies), trade and technical (including scientific and medical), and labor publications which carry advertising. The foregoing categories may have their own headings or may be included, with many others, within the Trade, Technical and Class section.
Includes circulation statistics and sometimes political orientation.
Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University) (1968-) indexes the collection of network television news programs at Vanderbilt University. Abstracts searchable by keyword to find information and/or request videotape loans. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from October 1995 to the present.
American History in Video has numerous modern documentaries together with newsreels from 1929 to the present.
Internet Archive includes films, radio audio clips, news clips, educational films, advertisements, industry films, etc.