The great majority of U.S. and foreign government documents and the publications of international organizations are housed in the Government Documents/Microforms Collection. Reference expertise is also available there. Many government documents are not represented in the HOLLIS Catalog.
In HathiTrust Full Text Advanced Search, you can do a full text search over the whole collection of millions of books and journals or over a subset defined by Title (useful for periodicals), Author, Subject, or Publisher. If you limit your search to the 1960s (or whatever) and to Full View, you will retrieve largely government documents (because they are not copyrighted). Full text of copyrighted material is not viewable. Phrases, rather than combinations of separate words, work best.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 with American State Papers, 1789-1838 consists of reports, documents and journals of U.S. Congress, including reports originating in Executive Departments.
HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents provides full-text access to the published debates, proceedings and speeches of the U.S. Congress, including the Annals of Congress(1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873) and the Congressional Record (1873 to present).
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing for Congressional publications dating from 1790 to the present. Post-1970, full-text access is often available. Publications included are Committee Hearings, House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports, Senate Executive Treaty Documents, Legislative Histories, Serial Set Maps, Serial Set. More complete than HathiTrust for congressional hearings, but clumsier to use. More information.
LLMC Digital. The collections offered by this vast digital library (which digitizes legal and government documents at risk of being lost) can be browsed under: Browse Collections. Includes Alabama.
Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights, 1957- . (University of Maryland School of Law. Thurgood Marshall Law Library: Baltimore) offers publications held in the Library's collection and on the USCCR Web site.
Government publications -- Massachusetts
State government publications -- Massachusetts
Local government publications -- Massachusetts
Municipal government publications -- Massachusetts
State List: The Electronic Source of State Publications. Coverage varies by state, generally 1990s- .
Monthly checklist of state publications (Title varies), 1910-1994). Library of Congress.
Documents (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | US Doc 5002.20
ProQuest History Vault Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle (1901-1975): 37 collections from the records of U.S. federal government agencies, including Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice,1901-1945; Department of Justice Classified Subject Files on Civil Rights, 1914-1949; New Deal Agencies and Black America; Records of the Tuskegee Airmen; President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights.
Records of the White House Conference on Civil Rights, 1965-1966 [microform] : a collection from the holdings of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library. 20 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 525 pt.4 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 525 pt.4 = Guide Level B
Archives Unbound: James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi presents FBI documentation of Meredith’s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Includes Meredith's correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Desegregation of the Armed Forces (Truman Library & Museum)
A historical guide to the U.S. government (1998) offers histories and name changes of government departments.
Location : Kennedy Sch of Gov Ref JK421 .H57 1998
Location : Lamont REFERENCE JK9 .H57 1998
Location : Law School Reference JK9 .H57 1998
Location : Widener RR 4213.30
Handbook for research in American history: a guide to bibliographies and other reference works. 2nd ed. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994.
Location : Widener RR 3621.7