EC 970: Economics of Education

This guide provides links to resources and services to help with your paper for your EC 970 tutorial. If you have questions about Library resources and services, I would be happy to hear from you.

• HOLLIS:  HOLLIS is our discovery platform for materials and resources available in the Harvard Library.  Includes individual journal articles available through many of the Harvard licensed databases, as well as books, journals, manuscripts, government documents, maps and more listed in a traditional library catalog.  Sign in for full access.  Our Hollis Help research guide has useful searching tips.
• Econlit :  Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
• Education Source, ERIC, Academic Search Premier : Search for education articles across three databases.
• ABI/Inform : Articles from over 1,000 academic management, marketing, and general business journals.
• JSTOR Economics: Full-text journal articles with focus on economics literature. 
• National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers: Full-text of NBER Working Papers from 1973 to the present. 
• SSRN:  A large collection of working papers mostly authored by prominent university faculty, both pre- and post-publication. These papers cover a range of academic subjects including law, economics, business and public policy topics.

• The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES): The primary Federal agency responsible for the collection, analysis and reporting of data related to education in the US.
• NCES Index to Postsecondary Surveys & Programs:  The NCES survey program at the postsecondary education level provides statistical information on public and private postsecondary institutions, including special studies of students, financial aid, postsecondary faculty, and bachelor’s degree recipients, doctoral degree recipients, transcript studies, and various longitudinal studies.
• Digest of Education Statistics: A comprehensive annual statistical compilation covering prekindergarten through postsecondary education.
• Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS):  Institution-level data on enrollment, program completions, faculty, staff, and finances for public and private postsecondary institutions from the late 1980s to present. For earlier years, see HEGIS.
• Common Core of Data (CCD):  The Department of Education's primary database on public elementary and secondary education in the United States.
• Opportunity Insights Education Datasets
• Education Data and Statistics:  A research guide from Gutman Library.  Includes US and International data resources.

• Social Explorer:  Presents historical census data for the United States through the use of interactive maps and reports. Currently provides access to data from 1790 to present at census tract, county, state and national level. Also includes statistics on crime, education, health and more.
• United States Economic Data Resources
• International Economic Data Resources
• EIU Country Data:  Economic indicators and forecasts providing data series on economic structure, foreign payments, exchange rates, external debt stock, external debt service, external trade, trends in foreign trade and quarterly indicators.
• Statista: A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
• Harvard Dataverse:  Includes the world's largest collection of social science research data. Collections include data sets from government entities, universities, and individual researchers.
• ICPSR Data Archive: One of the world’s oldest and largest social science data archives; based at the University of Michigan. Covers a wide range of topics including economics and education.  It includes a Child and Family Data Archive.
• Additional Economic Data Resources:  https://guides.library.harvard.edu/economics
• Additional Data and Statistics Research Guides:  https://guides.library.harvard.edu/sb.php?subject_id=62462

• Citation and Research Management Tools:  Citation and research management tools help you organize your research and keep track of your references. They also make it easy to add citations into the documents you're working on and automatically generate bibliographies in most styles. Harvard Library primarily supports the use of Zotero, EndNote, and Overleaf Pro +.

• The Writing Center is a place for Harvard undergraduates to get help with any aspect of their writing, from specific assignments to general writing skills.

• Add this bookmarklet to your browser to reload pay-per-view articles and access them with the Harvard Library's subscriptions.