Library Guide for Harvard Extension School

• All students have access to online library resources through Harvard Key.
• For help with online research, use the Research Help page on this guide.
• Degree candidates with a Harvard ID have online and in-person access until the end of their final semester, including in-between semesters.
• Course-takers with class participant cards have online and in-person access from the first day of the semester to the last day of the semester. 

COVID-19 Update for Spring 2024:

• Please refer to Harvard Extension School's Libraries page for detailed information about on-campus resources for degree candidates with Harvard IDs and for on-campus resources for non-degree, registered students seeking class participant library cards. 
• To obtain or use your Harvard ID card, or class participant card, to access Harvard libraries, you must first comply with Harvard University's COVID-19 immunization policy. Visit the COVID-19 Updates page for details. 

• Scan and Deliver, which offers an electronic scan of book chapters (two per book not exceeding 20% of the work) or journal articles (two per issue) is available to all students.
• Interlibrary Loan may be used remotely for online articles and book chapters to which Harvard doesn't have access. Print materials for Interlibrary Loan, and BorrowDirect, are only available to students on-campus, as these materials must be picked-up and returned on-campus to one of the FAS libraries within Harvard Library.
• The Borrow, Renew and Return Library Materials webpage contains information about borrowing, renewing and returning, and accessing materials.
• BorrowDirect Plus offers students the ability to visit Borrow Direct Plus institutions throughout the United States and receive a library card to borrow materials. (Availability of this program may vary, as some institutions might not allow visitors because of their COVID-19 policies.) 
• A Get Scholarly Articles for Free guide helps explain various ways to get online articles for free through Harvard.

• The Harvard Library Calendar contains information about upcoming online events, such as HOLLIS workshops.

• For Harvard Extension students with a Harvard ID or Class Participant Card: The Harvard Library website offers a Find a Space tool, which allows you to search for group study rooms and the availability of features like computers, laptops, printers, whiteboards, and whether or not food and drink is allowed. 
• The Smith Campus Center has drop-in spaces, food venues, and group-study rooms for students to reserve.
• The Harvard Extension Computer Lab provides computer facilities and staff support for all students. 

• The Use Harvard Library's Special Collections and Archives webpage provides an overview of how to access and use these unique materials.
• The Research Travel Checklist guide helps you plan your trip to a special collection, archive, or other repository. 

• Harvard Extension School Alumni (degree program graduates) have the opportunity to visit the libraries and to use online resources available to alumni.
• The Use Harvard Library as an Alum webpage offers a detailed overview of available access. The Using Libraries as a Harvard Alum guide outlines additional support and recommends resources for alumni.
• See the Harvard Extension Alumni Association for more information about membership.