The best place to start searching for journal articles is in one of the following databases, which collect publications from sociology, political science and policy studies, economics, and a range of other disciplines that contribute to the field of urban studies:
- Urban Studies Abstracts (Harvard Login)Interdisciplinary database covering research literature in urban sociology, community development, urban planning, urban history, and related fields.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Harvard Login)Comprehensive database providing citations to articles in architecture and design, urban planning, and related fields.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (Harvard Login)Extensive bibliography of international social science literature dating back to 1951, including books, book reviews, book chapters, and journal articles.
- Sociological Abstracts (Harvard Login)Core resource for researchers, professionals and students in sociology, social policy, and related disciplines.
- PAIS International (Harvard Login)Comprehensive database of international policy-oriented social science literature (ranging from political science and international relations to education and public health to economics and finance), with content in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
- EconLit (Harvard Login)Indexes articles in major economics journals as well as books, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
You can also try browsing individual journals in the field. Some of the most frequently cited include:
- International Journal of Urban and Regional Research (Harvard Login) Pre-1997 articles are available in print and can be requested via Scan & Deliver.
For policy papers and other publications by international relations and foreign policy think tanks, try our HKS Think Tank Search, a custom Google search across the websites of 1,200+ U.S. and international think tanks.Simply search using standard Google conventions (i.e. putting quotation marks around phrases):
Among the think tanks included, some are particularly useful for research in urban studies and urban policy:
- Urban InstituteIndependent research organization / think tank that publishes reports and and data on a broad set of issues in urban policy.
- Lincoln Institute of Land PolicyProvides a wealth of policy briefs, research reports, and data tools for urban and regional planning and related areas; some research projects have an international focus (particularly Latin America and China).
- Harvard Joint Center for Housing StudiesResearch center dedicated to studying housing policy issues.
- Policy File Index (Harvard Login)Abstracts of and links to domestic and international public policy research published by think tanks, university programs, and other research organizations.
To find books at Harvard, search HOLLIS, our library catalog:
If your results seem very "noisy," try searching by subject headings (under the advanced search tab), for example:
Urban policy(you can add the name of a country after this heading for even more specific results)
Community development, Urban
Related Research Guides
For additional resources in closely related fields, check the following research guides, curated by librarians across Harvard Library:
U.S. State & Local Government Resources
by James Adams Last Updated Jan 20, 2023 379 views this year
Urban Planning and Design
by Alix Reiskind Last Updated Sep 30, 2022 176 views this year
Public Policy & Public Administration
by James Capobianco Last Updated Feb 13, 2023 302 views this year
by James Adams Last Updated Jan 10, 2023 100 views this year
Education Policy and Analysis
by Quetzalli Barrientos Last Updated Aug 26, 2022 61 views this year
by James Adams Last Updated Jan 10, 2023 64 views this year
Real Estate [GSD]
by Nicole Santiago Last Updated Mar 16, 2020 25 views this year
by Cynthia Churchwell Last Updated Sep 2, 2015 0 views this year
Sociology: Library Resources for Graduate Students
by Kathleen Sheehan Last Updated Mar 12, 2019 21 views this year
Sociology: A Guide to Research Resources
by Kathleen Sheehan Last Updated Jun 7, 2022 48 views this year
History Resources for Policymakers
by Daniel Becker Last Updated Jan 13, 2023 37 views this year