A Note from the Library Director

On behalf of the Monroe C. Gutman Library team at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, I hope this message finds you well this fall 2025 semester. Welcome to our newest Ph.D. & Ed.L.D., Ed.M., and CAS students, and welcome back to our continuing doctoral and master's students. I hope Gutman Library's team members, services, and collections successfully support your research endeavors.

Some Background about HGSE's Gutman Library:
Gutman Library is the social and intellectual heart of HGSE. It is the premier education subject library for Harvard University, the greater Boston-Cambridge community, and educators and U.S. education historians internationally. Our work advances the research, teaching, and service missions of the School and the University. Gutman Library reports to HGSE's Dean Nonie Lesaux, Administrative Dean Jack Jennings, and Faculty Chair for Learning and Assessment Carrie Conaway. Our core budget and endowments are supported by HGSE Administration and Finance.

Onsite circulating collections include over 50,000 print volumes. Current HGSE affiliates have access to online journal subscriptions and millions of e-books. An additional 200,000+ print volumes are securely stored offsite in environmentally controlled conditions. With advanced planning, these items can be requested for use on campus. 

About Gutman Library's Special Collections and Archives:
Spanning two centuries, the Gutman Library Special Collections offer rich and varied resources for studying the history of schooling and learning in America. Distinctive collections include:

Our Environment:
We aim for inclusive educational experiences on the HGSE campus. HGSE's faculty, staff, and administrators want everyone to feel safe within our environment. For this reason, Gutman Library is accessible to Harvard affiliates with an HUID card, Harvard executive education residents, and outside readers with scheduled special collections research appointments. Our front entrance Security Desk is staffed to support any concerns. The Gutman Commons Café remains accessible to all during its open business hours.

Take Advantage of Our Services for You:
1. Be sure to ask for research and collections help at the 2nd floor Library Services Desk or via our chat service. 
2. The Office of Student Affairs, Academic Programs, and Career Services and Alumni Engagement are part of the 2nd floor service hub. 
3. Take advantage of the 2nd floor's two reading rooms for silent or quiet work.
4. For group activities, use the collaborative open seating areas on 1st floor, 3rd floor, and 4th floor. Chatter is also welcome in the center area of most floors, including the 2nd floor seating near the elevators and in the open computing area that includes our scanner, copier, and printer. 
5. The multipurpose conference rooms are also used for the Writing Center, AI, & Communications Lab (Rm. 269); the Special Collections reading room (Rm. 225); the Data Lab (Rm. 227); and library staff, student affairs, academic affairs, and career/alumni affairs personnel workspaces. When not in use some of the spaces can be reserved via EMS (access for current HGSE affiliates; note any exceptions in EMS). 
6. During nice weather, don't forget to use Gutman Library's 4th floor open-air, roof-top patio.
7. We offer consulting services in digital scholarship, critical pedagogy, and research data management support. Also, get to know your program, concentration, and foundation research librarians.
8. Visit online recordings from past book talk series. Our series is a partnership with the Harvard Education Press.
9. Lastly, make use of our affiliated services and spaces --

OER, Digital Scholarship, and Scholarly Communication:
As a proud member of the Open Education Network (OEN), Gutman Library embraces open education resources (OER) to help reduce out-of-pocket textbook costs for students. Gutman Library supports OER use, and we are investing in further OER programming. We also want to support HGSE authors to understand and negotiate their publication rights and to provide the tools and expertise needed for innovative digital scholarship and scholarly communication.

Be in Touch:
My colleagues and I want to hear from you! Share your ideas about how we can build stronger partnerships in research, teaching, learning, and service by writing to me at alex_hodges@gse.harvard.edu or by contacting your designated HGSE program, concentration, or foundation research librarian via our online form.

Best wishes for your academic and personal success this school year!

Alex R. Hodges, EdD, MLS
HGSE Librarian and Director, Monroe C. Gutman Library