Manuscript Collections
The following collections may be consulted with staff assistance. Contact us to schedule an appointment or learn more.
Francis Keppel Papers
Francis Keppel served as the United States Commissioner of Education and the Assistant Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare for Education during the Kennedy and Johnson administrations. Keppel was also a professor and Dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Education. The collection consists primarily of speeches and articles written by Keppel during his work for the federal government in the 1960s. See the HOLLIS record for the collection here. Contact us for a copy of the finding aid for this collection.
Harold Howe II Papers
Harold Howe II (1918-2002) was the U.S. Commissioner of Education (1965-1968), a vice president of the Ford Foundation (1971-1981) and a professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Education (1982-1994). The collection consists largely of copies of speeches and articles written by Howe from 1966-2002. It also includes correspondence (primarily from 1982-2002) and material related to Office of Education from the late 1960s. See the HOLLIS record for the collection here. Contact us for a copy of the finding aid for this collection.
Language Research Incorporated Project Files
Language Research, Inc. was a non-profit corporation established by I. A. Richards in Cambridge, MA to develop, publish, and disseminate materials to aid the process of learning of English and other languages. This collection includes documents pertaining to Basic English, LRI’s signature publication series English through Pictures, its French and Spanish iterations, their corresponding television and film programs, and LRI’s international and domestic educational research projects. See the HOLLIS record for the collection here. Contact us for a copy of the finding aid for this collection.
Man: A Course of Study Records (MACOS)/Peter B. Dow
Man: A Course of Study was a social science course for upper elementary grades that sought to understand human existence from an anthropological perspective. It was developed in the 1960s and reached its peak of popularity in the early 1970s. The collection contains records of the development, dissemination, and evaluation of the program mostly in the form of course materials, lesson plans, reports, correspondence and interviews. These materials were produced or collected by Peter B. Dow in his role as project director of the MACOS program. See the HOLLIS record for the collection here. Contact us for a copy of the finding aid for this collection.
Paul Mattingly Collection on the American Institute of Instruction
Paul H. Mattingly is an emeritus faculty member in the History Department at New York University. The collection consists of Mattingly’s biographical research files on the American Institute of Instruction membership. The American Institute of Instruction was a 19th century education association with a membership primarily based out of the New England states. The bulk of the collection consists of capsule biographies written by Mattingly on oversized file cards. See the HOLLIS record for the collection here. Contact us for a copy of the finding aid for this collection.
Roy E. Larsen Papers
Roy E. Larsen (1899 – 1979) worked in several capacities for Time Inc. for almost all of his adult life, including serving as president for over twenty years. Larsen also passionately advocated education reform through work in both non-profit organizations and government agencies. The collection consists of correspondence and other documents from Larsen’s involvement with Harvard University, Time Inc., agencies of the federal government, and civic organizations such as the National Citizens Commission for the Public Schools. See the HOLLIS record for the collection here. Contact us for a copy of the finding aid for this collection.