Discover Our Collections
Just getting started? See our Collections Overview for links to collection descriptions with tips for searching cataloged collections in HOLLIS.
Questions? Use our Gutman Ask Us form. For in-depth assistance, make an appointment with Rebecca Martin.
Visit Special Collections
Plan ahead!
- Appointments are required to visit our Special Collections.
- Our Special Collections are located off-site and take three business days minimum for us to retrieve.
- Appointment requests are subject to staff availability too.
Please take the following steps to visit our Special Collections:
- Create a HOLLIS Special Request Account and request specific materials
- Request an Appointment
- Prepare for your Visit
Create a HOLLIS Special Request Account and Request Materials
To use our collections, you must register as a researcher by creating a HOLLIS Special Request Account.
Use your account to:
- Submit requests automatically via links in our online catalog, HOLLIS
- Submit orders for reproductions including digital scans of special collections materials
- Track the status of your requests
- Access detailed information about past requests
- Gain access to all Harvard Library’s special collections repositories that use HOLLIS Special Request
Request an Appointment
Key considerations:
- All visits to Special Collections require an appointment. We do not accept walk-in appointments.
- Appointments can be scheduled Monday through Friday from 10am-4pm ET, subject to staff availability. We will do our best to accommodate your needs.
- Our collections are stored off-site and take a minimum of three business days to retrieve.
How to request an appointment:
- Request materials: Create a HOLLIS Special Request account and submit requests for materials before scheduling an appointment.
- Fill our your availability: Use our Appointment Request Form to share dates/times that work for you. We will contact you to confirm the final date/time of your visit(s).
Prepare for Your Visit
Where to Go
Directions to our Reading Room
- We are located on the second floor of the Gutman Library building on HGSE campus (6 Appian Way, Cambridge, MA 02138). You can review general directions to the HGSE campus and Gutman Library Building, and explore nearby accommodations if applicable.
-
Harvard Affiliates:
-
You will be asked to show your HUID to the security guard at the front entrance of the Gutman Library Building. Proceed to the Library Services Desk on the second floor of Gutman Library and ask for the Special Collections Librarian.
-
-
Non-Harvard Affiliates:
- You will be asked to show your identification to the security guard at the front entrance of the Gutman Library Building. Let them know that you have a Special Collections appointment. Proceed to the Library Services Desk on the second floor. At the desk, ask for the Special Collections Librarian.
What to Bring
Identification
- You must bring one of the following forms of ID:
- Harvard ID
- State-issued driver’s license or state-issued identification card, including a photo and date of birth; or
- Passport (U.S. or international).
- If you do not have one of these forms of identification, please use the Gutman Ask Us form to make individual arrangements in advance of your research visit.
Tools you need for your research:
- You’re welcome to bring pencils, laptops, tablets, phones (in silent mode), digital cameras, and other materials to assist in your research.
- Personal books or papers are allowed only if these items are necessary for immediate research.
- We do not permit the use of pens, tripods, scanners, camera flashes, special lighting, or any other equipment that rests directly on collection material or may pose a risk of damage.
What to Expect
User Orientation
- Special Collections staff will greet you and check your identification.
- We will help you to store coats, backpacks, purses, and other materials not needed for research in a secure locker.
- We will review our Special Collections procedures and handling guidelines, including the 10 Tips for Reading Room Success, before you see any materials you've requested.
During your visit
- You will have wireless access. Use these instructions for connecting to the HGSE network. HGSE and Harvard also support eduroam.
- You are likely able to take photographs, but it will depend on the collection you are using. Read Making and Requesting Copies to learn more.
Make or Request Reproductions
In Gutman Library
- You're welcome to photograph most materials. Some collections may be subject to donor stipulations that limit or prohibit photography. Researchers are asked not to take pictures of other patrons or the library. Laptops and tablets are permitted; flatbed scanners are not.
Submitting requests through HOLLIS Special Request
Requests for digital images are considered on a case-by-case basis. Permission depends upon the physical condition of the material in question, and should not be assumed in advance. On-site researchers may take digital photos to assist with note taking.
- Use the copy form in HOLLIS Special Request to make all requests. Learn more about making copy requests with HOLLIS Special Request.
- A Special Collections staff member will review your request and be in touch with you about fees and a timeline. We reserve the right to deny reproduction requests due to copyright concerns, donor restrictions, condition of the materials, or other reasons.
Teach with Our Collections
Contact us if you're interested in using our Special Collections material in your class. Fill out the Special Collections and Archives Class Request Tool, and we'll connect with you for an in-depth conversation.
We welcome faculty collaborations from in and outside of the HGSE and Harvard community.
Credit our Collections
Proper credit for citing original material, such as manuscripts or unpublished works, should read:
[Collection Name], Special Collections, Monroe C. Gutman Library, Harvard Graduate School of Education.
Published books do not need the citation. If unsure, please Ask Us.