Covid-19 Update for Gutman Library Special Collections

Gutman Library Special Collections has suspended in-person visits to our reading room in response to COVID-19 concerns and guidance provided by the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Gutman special collections librarians are responding to research queries and holding research appointments remotely. Please submit questions or concerns via our Ask Us form.

About Gutman Library Special Collections

Spanning two centuries, the Monroe C. Gutman Library Special Collections (GLSC) offers rich and varied resources for studying the history of schooling and learning in America.

As part of Gutman Library's mission to support learning, research, and teaching at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, the GLSC's mission is to:

  • Foster research and investigation into the history of the interdisciplinary field of education 
  • Encourage discovery, critical thinking, and intellectual exchange among a broad spectrum of users and partners 
  • Collect, preserve, and make accessible materials related to the history of schooling, teaching, and curriculum in the United States 

Learn more about using our collections

Morse School in Cambridge, Massachusetts, circa 1957.

Black and white photograph of a cafeteria at Morse School in Cambridge, Massachusetts, circa 1957.

Jeanne Chall

Black and white photograph of Jeanne Chall browsing books on a shelf.

Changing Channels, a book from the Action for Children's Television collection.

Cover image of the book, Changing Channels.

Open air school in Springfield, Massachusetts, January 1912

Black and white photograph of an open air school in Sprinfield, MA, January 1912.

The Family Guide to Children's Television, part of our Action for Children's Television collection

Cover image of the book, Family Guide to Children's Television.

Page seven from James H. Fassett’s "The First Beacon Reader"

Scan of page seven from James H. Fassett’s

Title page from "The Freedman’s Spelling-Book" (1866)

Scan of title page from

Cover page of the book Learning To Read: The Great Debate by Jeanne Chall.

Cover of the book, Manual of American Citizenship edited by Donald Farquharson Stewart, Mary Inez O'Donnell and Frederick Sherman De Galan

Image scan of the cover of the book, Manual of American Citizenship edited by Donald Farquharson Stewart, Mary Inez O'Donnell and Frederick Sherman De Galan

Map of the grounds of the Academy of Mount Saint Vincent, the first institution to offer higher learning for women in New York.

Map of the grounds of the Academy of Mount Saint Vincent, the first institution to offer higher learning for women in New York.

Scroll painting featured in our exhibit, From Crayons to Calligraphy: An Exhibition of Japanese Student Artwork, 1949-1951

Scroll painting featured in our exhibit, From Crayons to Calligraphy: An Exhibition of Japanese Student Artwork, 1949-1951

Frontispiece from Redfield's Zoological Science.

Image of the frontispiece from Redfield's Zoological Science, a depction of the animal kingdom.

Cover of Carolyn Sherwin Bailey's What to do for Uncle Sam: A First Book of Citizenship.

Cover of Carolyn Sherwin Bailey's What to do for Uncle Sam: A First Book of Citizenship.

Title page image of the Office of Indian Affairs pamphlet, Some Things That Girls Should Know How To Do, 1911.

Title page image of the Indian Bureau of Affairs pamphlet, Some Things That Girls Should Know How To Do, 1911.

The frontispiece from Josiah Freeman Bumstead’s "Third Reader."

Scan of the frontispiece from Josiah Freeman Bumstead’s

Page seven from the book, Fun with Dick and Jane.

Page seven from the book, Fun with Dick and Jane.