Jeanne S. Chall Collection on the Teaching of Reading

OverviewCover of Jeanne Chall's book Learning to Read

The Jeanne S. Chall Collection on the Teaching of Reading consists of materials collected by Professor Jeanne S. Chall and donated to Gutman Library Special Collections. The collection consists of several thousands of volumes documenting the history of reading research and the teaching of reading, spanning both the 19th and 20th centuries. Most of the materials date from the 1950s to 1980s and includes textbooks, curriculum sets and scholarly works.

Finding Content

To search within the Chall Collection:

  1. Visit the HOLLIS library catalog
  2. Click “Advanced Search”
  3. Select “Library Catalog"
  4. To view all titles in the Chall Collection:
    1. In the first drop-down, select “Code: Library+Collection”
    2. Enter: guthdspecc
  5. To search within the Chall Collection:
    1. In the first drop-down, select “Code: Library+Collection”
    2. Enter: guthdspecc
    3. Add one or more search terms to the additional search fields, such as parent* to see titles about reading and parent, parents, or parenting.
    4. Run a HOLLIS example search and see the screen shot below: 

 

See HOLLIS Quick Tips for other advice on how to save searches, search results and more.

Activities in honor of Jeanne Chall

Jeanne Chall established an endowment to support the Collection and an annual lecture, a visiting researcher and doctoral student award. Learn more about the endowment's activities. 

Questions?

Use our Ask Us form to learn more.