Find Primary or Archival Material
Contemporaneous Newspapers, Magazines, Images, etc.
- Add journals OR newspapers OR magazines OR periodicals to your Databases search for a specific region or time period
- Learn more from a guide to periodicals, such as the excellent American Literary Magazines
- Consult the History liaisons' guides to Periodicals and Newspapers
- Browse the stacks---you'll find general periodicals from the 19th and 20th centuries on Lamont Level A and/or Widener Level D-West
- Consult with the experts at Harvard's Fine Arts, Music, and Performing Arts collections
Media - Audio and Video ("time-based media")
- Add AND (streaming OR video OR audio) to your databases.hollis.harvard.edu search
- Filter your HOLLIS results by Resource Type (film/video, sound recording, etc.)
- For poetry in particular, PennSound and Harvard's Woodberry Poetry Room are major sources
- Search (with caution!) YouTube for videos/audio or Listen Notes for podcasts
Find What's Unique to Harvard
Houghton Library: A Student's Guide gives you a sense of how to explore a special collection at Harvard.
- Search HOLLIS (limit to Library Catalog) or HOLLIS for Archival Discovery
- Explore Collections and Library home pages on library.harvard.edu to get a sense of our collecting areas
- Talk to a librarian or curator about your project (ask Odile for recommendations!)
Unique Sources (wherever they may be)
The Research Travel Checklist gives you a sense of how to prepare for a research trip.
FACSIMILES AT HARVARD (digital, microform, print)
We have many large collections of primary sources whose originals are located elsewhere. Swap out "literary" for your preferred search terms
- Add archiv* OR manuscript* OR digitized OR primary to your Databases search
- Add form/genre=microform to your HOLLIS search
- Add sources OR archival OR facsimile to your HOLLIS search
FACSIMILES ELSEWHERE (digital, microform, print)
- See Have the materials been microfilmed, digitized, or published? on the Research Travel Checklist
A SPECIFIC PERSON'S PAPERS AND BOOKS
- Critical biographies often include information about where the bulk of a person's letters and manuscripts are held, while book-length biographies will list major sources in their acknowledgments and notes. Acknowledgments can be especially helpful if the papers are still privately held!
- See "Critical Biographies" (at the bottom of the "Find Background" page)
- Add author="former owner" in HOLLIS to find Houghton books that originally came from a specific person's library
- Search for subject=authorname AND ("books and reading" OR library)
- The History liaisons' guide to Manuscript and Archival Collections goes into much more depth