An ENCYCLOPEDIA provides summaries of a topic that references key debates and prominent authors with expertise in the field. Encyclopedia selected in this list illustrate sub-disciplinary topics including: historiographic time line, geographic areas, language, cultures and religions.
Brill's Companions in Classical Studies: a leading series of handbooks providing graduate-level synthesis of debate and the state of scholarship on key authors and subjects from Antiquity
Brill's New Pauly Online: an encyclopedia covering the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean to Late Antiquity including information on persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, literature, technical terms, ideas, and concepts. This is the online version of both the German language Der Neue Pauly and the English language Brill's New Pauly
Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online: brings together 6 reference works for study of the ancient world and its reception in later centuries, including the "Chronologies of the Ancient World;" the "Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts;" the "Historical Atlas of the Ancient World;" "The Reception of Myth and Mythology;" "The Reception of Classical Literature;" and "The History of Classical Scholarship"
Brockelmann Online: offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. Includes both original volumes of the Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes
The New Cambridge History of Islam / general editor, Michael Cook, Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010. 6 volumes.
Volume 1: The Formation of the Islamic World, Sixth to Eleventh Centuries
Volume 2, The Western Islamic World, Eleventh to Eighteenth Centuries
Volume 3, The Eastern Islamic World, Eleventh to Eighteenth Centuries
Volume 4: Islamic Cultures and Societies to the End of the Eighteenth Century
Volume 6: Muslims and Modernity: Culture and Society since 1800
Christian Muslim Relations Online, 600-1900: Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History Online, is a general history of relations between the two faiths as this is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. It covers all parts of the world in the period 600-1914 (there are 2 parts: 1500-1900 and 600-1500). The two files hold thousands of comprehensive entries on individual works and their authors, together with introductory essays to the periods and areas covered, making it the fullest available source in this field.
Encyclopedia Iranica: (print) studies Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent
Encyclopaedia Islamica Online: based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, a comprehensive source on Islam and the Muslim world; provides entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally; new content is added every year in alphabetical order
Encyclopedia of Ancient History: includes over 5000 entries, providing clear, concise definitions and explanations of the key people, places, and events in ancient history from the late Bronze Age through the 7th century. The encyclopedia covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world including the Near East and Egypt
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online: covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, and mixed varieties of Arabic), both synchronically and diachronically
Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online: originally published in print between 1913 and 1936, the scope of the First Edition Online is philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century. Such famous scholars as Houtsma, Wensinck, Gibb, Snouck Hurgronje, and Lévi-Provençal were involved in this scholarly endeavor offering access to 9,000 articles
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online, Second Edition: over 13,000 articles on topics in Middle Eastern and Islamic studies; this online edition includes access to the Index of Subjects to Volumes I-XI & to the Supplement, Fascicles 1-6 (compiled by P.J. Bearman), the Index of Proper Names to volumes I-X & the Supplement, Fascicles 1-6 (compiled by E. van Donzel), and the Supplement to Fascicle 7-8.
Encyclopedia of Religion: online version of the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed., published in print in 2005. Includes almost all the original 2,750 entries (many updated) from the first edition edited by Mircea Eliade and published in 1987, plus almost 600 new articles. Covers almost all topics on the world's religions including Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Taoism, new religious movements, ethics, feminist theology, ecology and religion, gender and religion, politics and religion, science and religion, art and religion, and film and religion
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān: English language encyclopedia covering all aspects of the Qur’ān including qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis as well as essays on important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures Online: reflects current research on gender studies and the Islamic world across history, geographic borders, and disciplines
Oxford Bibliographies, Islamic Studies: (the link takes you to the main page of bibliographies; select the Islamic Studies link under Browse by Subject); here you’ll find peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam / John L. Esposito, editor in chief. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003
The Oxford Handbook of the Abrahamic Religions: authoritative studies on a wide variety of topics dealing comparatively with Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, as well as with the interactions among the adherents of these religions throughout history
Oxford Islamic Studies Online: includes articles (from The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs To Know About Islam), biographies, primary texts, Qur'anic materials, and books by scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Also includes The Koran Interpreted (a verse translation by A.J. Arberry) and The Qur'an (a prose translation by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem) as well as the first electronic version of Hanna E. Kassis's A Concordance of the Qur'an
The Qur'an: an encyclopedia: (print) authored by 43 international experts, this encyclopedia provides researchers with a one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception; at the end of the work there is a substantial annotated bibliography providing a detailed guide to the most significant books, journals and articles in Qur'anic studies; the volume assumes no previous knowledge of the Qur'an, Islam, or Arabic
Quranic Arabic Corpus: an annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology