Photographer Alice Austen (March 17, 1866-June 9, 1952) grew up on Staten Island, where she lived with her grandparents, aunts and uncles, and her mother, Alice Cornell Austen. The scrapbook details her interests and social life through clippings, invitations, programs, tickets, dance cards, ribbons, and other mementos.

Jessie Tarbox Beals, a photographer and photojournalist, acquired her first camera in 1888 and photographed students, friends, and family groups. She was an itinerant photographer (1900-1901), then joined the Buffalo Inquirer and Courier as a staff photographer. Beals was one of the first women photojournalists and was a photographer at the St. Louis Exposition in 1904 and covered President Roosevelt's trip to Texas in 1905. Later that year she opened a studio in New York City. She worked for a number of prominent magazines and specialized in portraiture, animals, houses and gardens, and cityscapes. Her photographs are available digitally through HOLLIS Images. See also the Papers of Jessie Tarbox Beals.

An internationally known war correspondent and photographer, Bonney was a journalist during World War II. The collection includes photographs of the Women's Auxiliary Air Force and women war workers. Her photographs are available digitally through HOLLIS Images.

Two years of Hidden Collections grants from the Harvard Library allowed Schlesinger Library to select, catalog, and digitize a large portion of photograph collections that document the women’s liberation movement between the late 1960s and 1980s.

During World War II Collins worked for the Office of War Information as part of Roy Stryker's documentary photography team. She later worked as a freelance photojournalist on assignments in Alaska, Africa, and Europe.

Gay accompanied Alice Cunningham Fletcher, who as special agent for the U.S. Dept. of the Interior apportioned tribal lands among the Winnebagos of Nebraska and the Nez Percés of Idaho. Gay was the official photographer for the expedition. Two albums of photographs and letters about their trip have been digitized and are available online.

The photograph collection of Diana Mara Henry includes about 500 black and white photographs of women in the United States. The emphasis of the collection is on women in politics, particularly in campaigns, conventions, feminist demonstrations, and fund-raising events. Also included are photographs of actors, athletes, lawyers, journalists, fashion editors and models, children, teenagers, and old women.

Jacobson-Wenzel is a freelance photographer. This collection includes photographs of speakers and marchers, most at National Organization for Women events (1975-1989). It also includes photographs of anti-gay and anti-abortion protesters.

Photojournalist and free-lance photographer Bettye Lane was best known for her documentation of the women's movement of the 1970s and 1980s. The collection includes photographs of women participating in politics and sports; as well as photographs of well-known women, older women, children, and teenagers; and photographs dealing with such issues as rape, prostitution, battered women, lesbianism, the occult, and religion. Her photographs are available digitally through HOLLIS Images.

Freda Leinwand was a photographer known for her work documenting the women's movement, women working in non-traditional jobs, and children and adults with disabilities. Her photographs are available digitally through HOLLIS Images.

Lerner was a freelance photographer and photojournalist. Her projects documented women with breast cancer, women on welfare, and Afghani women.

Litwack studied photography with Minor White at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and went on to teach and lecture on photography in the Boston area. Her photographs document women in science and the arts. Her collection also includes her research on photographer Jessie Tarbox Beals.

While Medsger was working as a freelance television documentary producer-reporter and as a photojournalist, she produced Women at Work, a photographic documentary book and exhibition. This collection includes project files and photographs from the 1975 exhibition.

Starr Ockenga is a writer, photographer, designer, educator, and lecturer. This collection contains photographs of student life at Radcliffe College during the 1970s.

A political activist in the 1960s, Shaw began photographing American women politicians in the mid-1980s. This collection contains photographs of Congresswomen, state representatives, and other women in politics, as well as questionnaires from her subjects concerning their participation in political life.

Solomon's work has been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York City, the Corcoran Gallery of Art, and the International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House, among others. This collection consists of photographs of a 1978 march in support of the Equal Rights Amendment; the International Women's Year Conference in Houston, Texas, in 1977; anti-feminists; and mothers and daughters.