Area Collections
Below are significant collections within driving or commuting range from Cambridge.
American Antiquarian Society in Worcester aims to collect all printed matter and other artifacts prior to 1877, including books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts.
American Comedy Archives at Emerson College, Boston contains primary source material that documents the professional activities of the groundbreaking individuals who have written, produced, or performed comedy for radio, television, motion pictures, or live performance.
American Theater Archive Project (ATAP) is an initiative by the American Society for Theatre Research to promote the archiving of contemporary theatre in America.
Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University in New Haven, CT is one of the world’s largest libraries devoted to rare books and manuscripts.
Conjuring Arts Research Center in NYC is dedicated to the preservation and interpretation of magic and its allied arts, which include psychic phenomenon, hypnosis, deceptive gambling, science and history of playing cards, mentalism, ventriloquism, juggling, and sleight of hand techniques.
The Free Library of Philadelphia Theatre Collection contains research materials on the history of American theatre, early film, and popular entertainment dating back to 1803.
Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, DC is the world's largest collection of materials relating to Shakespeare and his works, from the 16th century to the present day, including books, manuscripts, and prints from Renaissance Europe.
The Hampden-Booth Theatre Library in NYC collects rare 19th century American and British Theatre memorabilia, books, photos, prompt-books, stage costumes and props
Museum of the City of New York’s Theater Collection in NYC contains objects that document performance in New York city from 1785 to present day Broadway.
New England Historical Society is an online journal and database promoting issues of historic interest in the region.
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center, NYC is one of America’s leading repositories for document on the performing arts in America.
The Schubert Archive in NYC collects the business and artistic records of the Schubert Brothers.
Theatre Historical Society of America in Pittsburgh, PA contains documents on movie theatre architecture dating back to the late 1800s, including photographic prints, operational records, blueprints, photo negatives and slides, programs, books, artifacts, newspaper clippings, artwork, and magazines.