Library Research Guide for British Colonial and Foreign Relations Sources

The East-India register and directory... : from the official returns received at the East-India house, 1803-1844. London : Sold by Black, Kingsbury, Parbury and Allen, (London : Cox and Baylis)
HOLLIS Records

Continued by: East-India register and army list, 1844-1860 
http://id.lib.harvard.edu/alma/990020226850203941/catalog and 
Indian army and civil service list, 1861-1876 (HOLLIS Record)

Continues: New oriental register and East India directory, 1768-1802.   1802 ed.

A calendar is a set of short summaries of archival documents:
The English Factories in India 1618-1669: A Calendar of Documents in the India Office, British Museum and Public Record Office, by William Foster. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1906- . 3 vol.
Networked Resource (vols. 1-2)
Widener | Ind 655.16

List of factory records of the late East India Company, preserved in the Record Department of the India Office, London. 1897, xxviii, 91 p.
HOLLIS Record

Bibliography of the East India company: books, pamphlets and other materials printed between 1600 and 1785, by Catherine Pickett. London: British Library, 2011, 301 p.
HOLLIS Record

The British Library India Office Records holds the archives of the East India Company (1600-1858), the Board of Control or Board of Commissioners for the Affairs of India (1784-1858), the India Office (1858-1947), the Burma Office (1937-1948), and some other related British agencies.
Search our Catalogue Archives and Manuscripts

A brief guide to biographical sources - India Office Library and Records. 2nd ed. London: British Library, India Office Library & Records, 1990.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CT1503.Z99 I52 1990x

A general guide to the India Office Records, by Martin Moir. India Office Library and Records. London : British Library, 1988, 331 p.
HOLLIS Record

Company paintings : Indian paintings of the British period, by Mildred Archer and Graham Parlett. London : Victoria and Albert Museum; Ahmedabad : Mapin Pub. Pvt. ; Middletown, NJ : Grantha Corp., 1992, 240 p.
HOLLIS Record

Imperial landscapes : Britain's global visual culture, 1745-1820, by John E. Crowley. New Haven Conn.: Published for the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art by Yale University Press, 2011, 282 p.
HOLLIS record

East India Company (1599 to 1947) offers India Office Records from the British Library. Contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings, treaties, expedition reports, etc. Post-1858 material (170 items) consists largely of Council of India sources plus some other records.

The East India Company, 1600/1858: a short history with documents, by Ian Barrow. Indianapolis : Hackett Publishing Company, Inc., 2017, 176 pages.
HOLLIS Record

The English factories in India: (New series), by Charles Fawcett. Published under the patronage of His Majesty's Secretary of State for India in Council. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1936- . 4 v.
HOLLIS Record
--v. 1. The Western presidency, 1670-1677.--v. 2. The Eastern coast and Bengal, 1670-1677.--v. 3. Bombay, Surat, and Malabar Coast. 1678-1684.--v. 4. The Eastern coast and Bay of Bengal.

Additional primary source collections on the East India Company can be found by a HOLLIS Classic Widener Call Number browse on Ind 55.

East India Company, general correspondence
DVD.
Disc 1: IOR E/1/41-IOR E/1/50. IOR E/1/216-IOR E/1/217
Disc 2: IOR E/1/51-IOR E/1/57. IOR B/69-IOR B/70.
Selections from India Office Records, class E and B.
India Office Records: Arrangement of the Records, and List of Classes
HOLLIS Record

East India Company, minutes of the Court of Directors and Court of Proprietors, 1599-1858.
India Office Records: IOR B/69-IOR B/70.
India Office Records: IOR E/1/41-IOR E/1/57.
India Office Records: IOR E/1/216-IOR
E/1/217.
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request

Armenian merchants of the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries: English East India Company sources, ed. by Vahé Baladouni and Margaret Makepeace.  Transactions of the American Philosophical Society, v. 88, pt. 5, 1998, xxxvii, 294 p.
Widener | LSoc 4685.100 n.s. vol. 88, pt.5
Baker Business | Stacks -- LC Books | HF3785 .A76 1998

Trade on the Guinea Coast, 1657-1666: the correspondence of the English East India Company, ed. by Margaret Makepeace. Madison, WI: African Studies Program, University of Wisconsin--Madison, 1991, 158 p.
Widener | WID-LC | HF486.E6 T73 1991

British parliamentary papers: House of Commons sessional papers of the eighteenth century, George-III, East India Company, 1767 to 1773. Delhi : Amar Prakashan, 1985, viii, 111, xcii, lxviii p.
Reprint of works originally published 1767-1773.
Comprises papers, grants, charters, etc., on the affairs of the East India Company.
Widener | Harvard Depository

East India Company original correspondence, Apr. 21, 1634-Sept 19, 1644. London : India Office Library and Records, 1979.
7 microfilm reels.
Reel 1-2. IOR E/3/15. Apr. 21, 1634-Mar. 30, 1637 (no. 1522-1595) -- reel 3-4. IOR E/3/16. Mar 27, 1637-Mar 14, 1639 (no. 1596-1670) -- reel 5. IOR E/3/17. Apr. 1, 1639-1641 -- reel 6-7. IOR E/3/18. Mar. 26, 1641-Sept 19, 1644 (no. 1769-1863)
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request

East India Company, general correspondence. (1602-1859) DVD. <BR>Selections from India Office Records, class E and B.
Contents: Partial contents: [Disc 1] IOR E/1/41-IOR E/1/50. IOR E/1/216-IOR E/1/217 -- [Disc 2] IOR E/1/51-IOR E/1/57. IOR B/69-IOR B/70.
East India Company, minutes of the Court of Directors and Court of Proprietors, 1599-1858.
HOLLIS Record http://id.lib.harvard.edu/aleph/013452549/catalog
CRL  Online Guides

East India Company. Canton factory records. 10 microfilm reels.
From the India Office Library and India Office Records.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1298
Brief description on HOLLIS record

Sumatra factory records. 162 v. on 115 microfilm reels
Consists of British trading post ("factory") records for Sumatra between 1685 and 1825.
From the India Office Library
Largely made up of correspondence and reports sent between the East India Company factory on Sumatra and its directors in London. Factory records also contain consultations (records of administrative decisions and of correspondence), diaries (records of daily activities), letters received, copies of letters sent and subject files.
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request
Online guide

The lawes or standing orders of the East India Company. 1 online resource (82 p.)
Print version: East India Company. Lawes or standing orders of the East India Company. Farnborough, Hants., Eng., Gregg International Publishers, 1968. Republication of the 1621 edition, printed in London?

Irish University Press area studies series, British parliamentary papers =: Colonies: East India. Shannon, Irish University Press. 22 v.
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request
This material will be available online in House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Consists of Select Committee Reports from 1805 to 1874 documenting the operations of the East India Company

Marine records [microform].
--Several vols. of manuscripts relating to commerce in the East Indies in the 17th century.
Includes: Journal of a voyage of the Bull from Bantam to Manila and back, July 3, 1674 to Feb. 3, 1675 / kept by John Halwell.
--IOR 57 G/21/1-5.
Microforms (Lamont) | Harvard Depository | DS465 .M37 1600x Consult Documents/Microtexts desk

The Indian papers of the Rt. Hon. Charles John, Earl Canning: Governor General (1856-1858) & Viceroy (1858-1862). <4?> pts. on <67> microfilm reels.
Brief description on HOLLIS record
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1332
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1332 = guide
Brief description on HOLLIS record
Online guide

Liverpool papers. Vol. 315 (ff. 87), Letters and papers supplementing volumes of special subjects in the series 38397-38462. 1 microfilm reel.
From the British Library
Papers and correspondence supplementing Add. 38410-38411 (East India Company, 1810-1824) ; Add. 38416 (slave trade, 1811-1822) ; Add. 38423 (mint and coinage, 1797) ; Add. 38448 (Duchy of Lancaster, 1799) ; Add. 38457, 38458 (elections, 1768-1824) ; Add. 38462 (Isle of Man, 1805).
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1299

The correspondence of David Scott, director and chairman of the East India Company, relating to Indian affairs, 1787-1805, ed. by C.H. Phillips. London, Offices of the Royal Historical Society, 1951. 2 v.
v. 1. 1787-1799.--v. 2. 1800-1805.
Camden third series, v. 75-76
HOLLIS Record