Research Guides: Library Research Guide for British Colonial and Foreign Relations Sources: Southeast Asia

Southest Asia

Guides and Bibliographies

General Guides and Bibliographies

Archival Sources

A guide to manuscripts and documents in the British Isles relating to South and South-East Asia, by J.D. Pearson. London; NY: Mansell Pub. Ltd., 1989-1990.
Widener | WID-LC | CD1048.A8 P43 1989
v. 1. London -- v. 2. British Isles (excluding London).

Which supplements:
A guide to Western manuscripts and documents in the British Isles relating to South and South East Asia, by M. D. Wainwright and Noel Matthews. London, NY: Oxford University Press, 1965, 532 p.
History Dept | Hist 4900.401
Widener | B 3503.25

Document Collections

General

Central Government Publications (Colonial Office)

Confidential Print

Confidential print Siam and South-East Asia, 1882-1937 (FO 422). Microfilm. Foreign Office, 1882-1937. 101 v.
HOLLIS Record
Microforms (Lamont) Film S 830 FO 422
Indexed in the Bodleian Library Foreign Office Confidential Prints Database 1827-1914
--Confidential prints contain printed material, from single letters to large volumes, circulated by the Foreign or Colonial Office, to their own officers, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British administrations abroad.

Registers of general correspondence of the Foreign Office : China, Japan, Siam, Korea (FO 566). Microfilm.
Notes: Covers period: 1817-<1919>
Documents also called: Index 24836-24841, 24843-24851, 24854-24856, 24858, 27855-27863.
HOLLIS Record

Index to British Colonial Office files pertaining to British Malaya, by Paul H. Kratoska. Kuala Lumpur : Arkib Negara Malaysia, 1990-
HOLLIS Record

v.1. CO 273 Straits Settlements (1838-1900) file list
v. 2.CO 273 (1838-1900) index (Abaca-Governor)
v.3. CO 273 (1838-1900) index (Governor-Pk) v. 4. CO 273 (1838-1900) index (Pk-Zimmer)
v. 5. CO 273 (1901-1919) file list
v. 6. CO 273 (1901-1919) index (Aarkus-Gough)
v. 7. CO 273 (1901-1919) index (Gough-Pk)
v. 8. CO 273 (1901-1919) index (Pk-Zurich)
v. 9. CO 273 Straits Settlements original correspondence file list and index, 1920-1946
v. 10. CO 717 Malay States ; CO 953 Singapore ; CO 1022 South East Asia Dept. ; CO 1030 Far Eastern Department
v. 11A. CO 144 Labuan
v. 11B. CO 531 British North Borneo ; CO 874 North Borneo Company ; CO 938 Sarawak ; CO 954 Borneo ; CO 947 Cobbold Commission
v. 12. CO 537 Colonies,general file list and index ; CO 537 (vols 45-48) file list and index ; CO 825 Eastern Department file list and index ; CO 852 economic file list and index ; CO 865 Far Eastern reconstruction file list and Index ; CO 882 Eastern confidential prints file list and Index.

British policy in Asia microform: India Office memoranda. London: Mansell, 1980. 63 microfiches.
Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Microfiche W 2005 = guide (61 p.)
Microforms (Lamont) Microfiche W 2005
HOLLIS Record
--V. 1. The Middle East 1856-1947. (39 microfiches); v. 2. Tibet, Burma and Indo-China 1862-1940 (24 microfiches)
--India Office Records as IOR L/P & S/18

Asian economic history. Series 2, Economic development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980 (Public Record Office files from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, Treasury, Dominions Office, Board of Trade and Cabinet Committees).
Finding aids: Accompanied by printed reel guides.
Variant title: Economic development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980
Description: <3 > pts. on <84 > microfilm reels + guides
Contents: pt. 1. Files for 1950-1954 (24 reels) -- pt. 2. Files for 1955-1958 (24 reels)--pt. 3. Files for 1959-1962 (24 reels) -- Files for 1963-1966 (24 reels).
HOLLIS Record

Colonial papers (CO 77). East Indies. Microfilm. Great Britain. Colonial Office. 3 v.
PRO
HOLLIS Record
Film S 830 CO 77

British intelligence on Siam and mainland Southeast Asia, c. 1887-1948. 302 microfiches.
The collection is from the archives of the Political and Secret Department of the India Office.
Contents: BIM-1. Southeast Asia military reports, 1892-1932 -- BIM-2. Siam (Thailand) political affairs, 1887-1948 -- BIM-3. Siam (Thailand) boundaries, 1894-1945 -- BIM-4. Siam (Thailand railways, 1907-1947 -- BIM-5. Consular tours 1912-1941 -- BIM-6. Siam (Thailand) 2nd World War, 1930-1948.
HOLLIS Record

Borneo

Records of the Colonial Office, British North Borneo (Sabah), Sessional Papers, 1908-1965. C.O. 648 : Sessional papers from the colonies. Microfilm.
Incomplete contents: C.O. 648/1-24. Administration Reports, 1908-1950.
HOLLIS Record

Borneo : despatches to Secretary of State, 1913-1922 [from the British Agent for Sarawak and North Borneo]. 1 microfilm reel. Great Britain. Colonial Office.
HOLLIS Record

Borneo, despatches from Secretary of State, 1910 [-1914, 1923, 1926]. :Great Britain. Colonial Office. ca. 500 leaves.
HOLLIS Record

Sumatra factory records. 162 v. on 115 microfilm reels.
1685-1825. Microfilm of manuscript records in the India Office Records.
HOLLIS Record
Online Guide https://dds-crl-edu.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/crldelivery/15914
CRL

Malaya

Federated Malay States, original correspondence, 1920-1939 [CO 717]. Great Britain. Colonial Office. 140 microfilm reels.
/http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue/displaycataloguedetails.asp?CATID=3376&CATLN=3&accessmethod=5
HOLLIS Record 013541453
CRL (Ctr for Research Libs) | [To obtain CRL items, submit an Interlibrary Loan request via your home library]

Thailand (Siam)

The Crawfurd papers: a collection of official records relating to the mission of Dr. John Crawfurd sent to Siam by the government of India in the year 1821. Bangkok, 1915, 285 pp. --From papers in the archives of the India office.
Location : Law School Harvard Depository 54 32.4.5
Location : Widener Ind 9150.20

British intelligence on Siam and mainland Southeast Asia, c. 1887-1948
Published: Leiden : IDC Publishers, 2006.
Description: 302 microfiches ; 11 x 15 cm.
The collection is from the archives of the Political and Secret Department of the India Office.
Contents: BIM-1. Southeast Asia military reports, 1892-1932 -- BIM-2. Siam (Thailand) political affairs, 1887-1948 -- BIM-3. Siam (Thailand) boundaries, 1894-1945 -- BIM-4. Siam (Thailand railways, 1907-1947 -- BIM-5. Consular tours 1912-1941 -- BIM-6. Siam (Thailand) 2nd World War, 1930-1948.
HOLLIS Record
Lamont

Political and Other Departments: General Correspondence before 1906, Siam. Microfilm. Great Britain. Foreign Office.
Document numbers: F.O. 69/1-276 (1849-1905)
HOLLIS Record

Abstract of British Foreign Office documents relating to Thailand = Sārā sangkhēp ʻēkkasān khō̜ng Krasūang Tāng Prathēt khō̜ng ʻAngkrit kīeokap Prathēt Thai. Bangkok] : Sathāban Thai Khadī SƯksā, Mahāwitthayālai Thammasāt, 2517- [1974-
Language: Thai; English
Contents: Incomplete contents: -- v. 2. Reign of King Vajiravudh, 1910-1925
HOLLIS Record

Local Government Publications

You can browse the paper Southeast Asian government documents held in the Microforms Collection, Lamont Level B by entering the following call numbers in the HOLLIS Classic Basic search and adjusting the menu to Widener call number:

For Burma: Ind Doc 3502 (goes to 3595)
For Thailand: Ind Doc 3802 (goes to 3962)
For Malaysia: Ind Doc 4002 (goes to 4120)
For Singapore: Ind Doc 4302 (goes to 4350)
For Laos: Ind Doc 5505 (goes to 5630.10)
For Cambodia: Ind Doc 5707 (goes to 5804)
For Philippines: Oc Doc 7202 (goes to 7383.10)

Legislative

Malacca, sessional papers, 1946-1950 (C.O. 944) Microfilm. Great Britain. Colonial Office.
HOLLIS Record
CRL

Singapore, sessional papers, 1946-1965 (C.O. 940) Microfilm. Great Britain. Colonial Office.
Document numbers: C.O. 940/1-9.
HOLLIS Record
CRL

Judicial

Sarawak, North Borneo and Brunei Supreme Court reports. 1952/1953-1960/1963. Kuching, Sarawak : Govt. Print. Off., [1956?]-1964. 8 v. FindIt@Harvard

Supreme court reports: pre war, 1928-41; post war, 1946-51. Kuching, Sarawak, Government Print. Off. [1955] 1 v. A consolidated reprint of the original edition of the Law reports. FindIt@Harvard

Supreme court reports. Kuching, Sarawak: Printed at the Government Printing Office, 1928- 1928-46 cover the years 1928-41 and are numbered 1-4. FindIt@Harvard

Malaysia (Malaya)

Trengganu Sessional Papers, 1910-1940 (C.O. 840). Great Britain. Colonial Office. Microfilm reels
Document numbers: C.O. 840/1-2.
HOLLIS Record
CRL

Federation of Malaya, sessional papers, 1946-1965 (C.O. 941). Great Britain. Colonial Office. Microfilm reels
Document numbers: C.O. 941/1-11.
HOLLIS Record

Judicial

Mallal's digest of Malaysian and Singapore case law: being a digest of the reported decisions of the Malaysian and Singapore Superior Courts and appeals therefrom to the Privy Council, by Bashir A. Mallal. 3d ed. Singapore, Malayan Law Journal, 1967-1979. 4 v.
FindIt@Harvard
--v. 1. 1808-1965. Administrative law to customs and excise.
--v. 2. 1808-1967. Damages to Housing and Development Board.
--v. 3. 1808-1969. Identity cards to local government.
--v. 4. 1808-1976. Machinery to prize law.
2nd ed. 1808-1951 FindIt @Harvard
1st ed. 1808-1939 FindIt@Harvard

The laws of the Federated Malay States, 1877-1920; compiled by A. B. Voules ..London, Aylesbury, Printed by Hazell, Watson & Viney, ld., 1921. 3 v.
LLMC version
FindIt@Harvard

Malayan law reports, containing reports of cases decided in the Federation of Malaya and the Colony of Singapore. v. 1-5; Jan. 1950-Dec. 1954. Kuala Lumpur, Printed at the Federation of Malaya government press [1950-1955]
FindIt@Harvard

The law reports of the Malayan Union, 1947. Kuala Lumpur : Printed at the Govt. Press, 1950, 257 p.
FindIt@Harvard

Malayan cases : being a collection of old and important cases which are still law, ed. by Bashir A. Mallal and Nazir A. Mallal. Singapore : Malayan Law Journal Office, 1939- "Reports of decisions of the Privy Council in appeals from Malaya.... Cases decided by the Supreme Court, which serve to illustrate a principle or principles of law"--Pref., v. 1.
FindIt@Harvard

The Malayan digest : being a complete digest of every case in the colony of the Straits settlements and the Federated Malay states reported from 1808 to the present day : including annotations and full index, by C. H. Withers Payne. Singapore, S. S.: Malayan Law Journal Office, 1936, [10], 38, 305 p.
FindIt@Harvard

The Law reports of the Federated Malay States. 1931/1932- . Kuala Lumpur, Printed at the F. M. S. Government Press, 1939-47. FindIt@Harvard

The Law reports of the Federated Malay States. Kuala Lumpur, Printed at the F. M. S. Government Printing Office, 1922-33. 7 v. . vol. I: 1906-
FindIt@Harvard
FindIt@Harvard

The Malayan law journal. Vol. 1, no. 1 (July 1932)- . Singapore : Malaya Pub. House, c 1932- Vol. numbering drops with v. 30 in 1964. Issued in parts, 1967-<1991> General index and table of cases reported, 1932-1988. 1 v.
FindIt@Harvard
In LexisNexis Academic (1932- )

Federated Malay States. A digest of reported cases, 1897-1925, together with a consolidated list of the titles of the cases, by James McCabe Reay. Kuala Lumpur, Printed at the Federated Malay States government press, 1929, 134 p.
FindIt@Harvard

Straits Settlements

The chronological table of Straits Settlements laws and of the laws of the Colony of Singapore ...Singapore, 1908-1952.
FindIt@Harvard
--Beginning in 1927 issued in 2 volumes: v. 1. Imperial laws; v. 2. Ordinances. Harvard has v. 2 only.

The municipal ordinance of the Straits Settlements, annotated by D.K. Walters. Singapore, Govt. print off., 1937, lviii, 481, 175 p. FindIt@Harvard

Straits Settlements law reports. Singapore : Printed and published for the Committee of the Singapore Bar by the "Straits Times" Press, Vol. 1-v. 15, 1893-1931.
Google Books Version
LLMC Version
FindIt@Harvard

The Straits Settlements law reports. 1926-1941/42. London, Published by the Crown agents for the colonies, 1927-51. 16 v.
LLMC Version
FindIt@Harvard

Cases heard and determined in Her Majesty's Supreme Court of the Straits Settlements 1808-1890, ed. and reported, with a judicial-historical preface from 1786 to 1885 by James William Norton Kyshe. Singapore : Singapore and Straits Printing Office, 1885-1890. 4 v.
Google Books Version
LLMC Version
FindIt@Harvard
v. 1. Civil cases.--v. 2. Criminal rulings, admiralty, bankruptcy, ecclesiastical and habeas corpus cases.--v. 3. Magistrates' appeals.--v. 4. 1885-1890, civil, ecclesiastical, habeas corpus, adminralty and bankruptcy cases, criminal rulings and magistrates' appeals.

Straits law reports : being a report of cases decided in the Supreme court of the Straits Settlements, Penang, Singapore and Malacca : also a few judgments of the Indian and English cases : with an analytical index, by Stephen Leicester. Penang : Commercial press, by H. LEe, 1877, 661 p.
FindIt@Harvard

A selection of oriental cases decided in the Supreme courts of the Straits' Settlements. Collected and arranged by Robert Carr Woods, junr. ... Pinang, Printed for private circulation, 1869, 6 p. l., 43, [1], 10, [1], 2 p.
Making of the Modern World Version
Google Books Version
FindIt@Harvard

A table of written law judicially considered by the Supreme court of the Straits Settlements and on appeal therefrom. 1808-1898 Comp. by E.R. Koek ... Singapore, Printed at the "American Mission Press", 1900, ix, [1], 48 p.
Google Books Version

Table of written law judicially considered by the Supreme court of the Straits Settlements and on appeal therefrom. 1808-1898. Singapore, Printed at the "American Mission Press", 1900
FindIt@Harvard

Singapore

The Singapore law reports : reformatted from the original and including, Singapore law reports, 1946-1949; and, Colony of Singapore law reports, 1953-1956. Singapore : Government Printing Office, 1946-1956.
HOLLIS Record with online access

The Singapore law reports. 1946-1949. Singapore : Govt. Print. Off., 1950-1951. 4 v.
No volumes were published between 1950-1952, cases during those years are reported in the Malayan law reports.
FindIt@Harvard

Statistics

Straits Settlements miscellanea. CO 277. USB drive. (1867-1939) Colonial Office 'Blue Books
HOLLIS Record

Straits Settlements. Blue book.
Documents (Lamont) | Ind Doc 4003.5 F
HOLLIS Record