Treaties

Guides

An index of British treaties, compiled and annotated by Clive Parry and Charity Hopkins.
London, H.M.S.O., 1970-<1991>
"A complete consolidated index to the Treaty series of the United Kingdom
HOLLIS Records
Internet Archive Full text
-- v.1-3. 1101-1968 -- v. 4. 1969-1988.
--Includes references to the publications where the actual treaties can be found. For example:

A collection of treaties, engagements and sanads relating to India and neighbouring countries, by C. U. Aitchison. 5th ed. Calcutta, Government of India Central Publication Branch, 1929-33. 14 v.   Example
HOLLIS Records
HathiTrust Full Text (1909 ed.)

Full text can also be found in:
The Consolidated treaty series, edited and annotated by Clive Parry. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y., Oceana Publications, 1969-1981, 231 v.
"The present series ... is proposed ... to make a beginning with the year 1648 ... and, for the period between that year and the date of commencement of the League series (approximately 1918-20), to reproduce such prints of treaties in their original languages as can be found in whatsoever collection along with such translations into English or French as again ... can be found."
"Appendix of Dutch colonial agreements": v. 227-231.
HOLLIS Record

Index-guide to treaties : based on the Consolidated treaty series, edited and annotated by Clive Parry, LL.D., and all other series therein utilised. Dobbs Ferry, N.Y. : Oceana Publications, 1979-1986, 3 v. in 12
[pt. 1] v. 1. Irwin, P. General chronological list, 1648-1809 [i.e., 1648-1808]--v. 2. Hill, Brian H.W. General chronological list, 1648-1809 supplement, 1809-1851.--v. 3. Hill, Brian H.W. General chronological list, 1852-1885.--v. 4. Hill, Brian H.W. General chronological list, 1886-1903.--v. 5. Hill, Brian H.W. General chronological list, 1904-1919.--[pt. 2] Meyer, Michael A. Special chronological list, 1648-1920 (2 v.).--[pt. 3] Hill, Brian H.W. Party index. (5 v.)
HOLLIS Record

Most of the sources below are of limited date coverage or are selective.

UK Treaties Online (UKTO) (1892- ; some earlier)     Contains information (not full text) on over 14,000 treaties to which the UK is or has been a party with links to texts of command papers published in the UK Treaty Series. Includes references to printed treaties. Use Advanced Search. Arrange by date beside the Date of Signature filter.

Treaty series. Commonly known as: United Kingdom treaty series, 1892, no. 1- .  Issued in the parliamentary series as Papers by command.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

Hertslet's commercial treaties. A collection of treaties and conventions, between Great Britain and foreign powers, and of the laws, decrees, orders in council, &c., concerning the same, so far as they relate to commerce and navigation, slavery, extradition, nationality, copyright, postal matters, &c., and to the privileges and interests of the subjects of the high contracting parties. Compiled from authentic documents .. London, 1835-1925, 31 v. in 28.
HOLLIS Records
HathiTrust Full Text
--Incorporated into British and foreign state papers, vol 116 (1922)-

British and foreign state papers. Great Britain. Foreign Office, 1841-1977. v.1-170 (1812/1814-1967/1968)
HOLLIS Records with link to LLMC
HathiTrust Full Text   vol 1-137 (1934) only

East India Company treaties may be found in the East India Company digital collection.

Oxford historical treaties
Treaties concluded between 1648 and 1919, taken from The consolidated treaty series, edited and annotated by Clive Parry. OUP plans to add more treaties which were not in Parry's collection.