Comprehensive Histories

The Oxford history of the British Empire, ed. by Wm. Roger Louis. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 1998-1999.  5 v.
Location :  Lamont DA16 .O95 1998
Location :  Widener WID-LC DA16 .O95 1998
HOLLIS Record
--Contents :  v. 1. The origins of empire -- v. 2. The eighteenth century -- v. 3. The nineteenth century -- v. 4. The twentieth century -- v. 5. Historiography.

The Cambridge history of the British Empire, ed. by J. Holland Rose ... A.P. Newton ... E.A. Benians et al. New York, The Macmillan Company: Cambridge, Eng., The University Press, 1929-61, 8 v. in 9.
v. 1. The old Empire, from the beginnings to 1783.--v. 2. The growth of the new Empire, 1783-1870.--v. 3. The Empire-Commonwealth, 1870-1919.--v. 4. British India, 1497-1858.--v. 5 The Indian empire, 1858-1918.--v. 6. Canada and Newfoundland.--v. 7, pt. 1. Australia.--v. 7, pt. 2. New Zealand.--v. 8. South Africa, Rhodesia and the Protectorates.
HOLLIS Record with Heinonline Version

The Cambridge history of the British Empire. 2nd ed. Cambridge [Eng.] : University Press, 1963-
HOLLIS Record  (vol. 8: South Africa. Rhodesia and the High Commission Territories (Bibliography: v.8, p.[917]-1017) Br 393.51 -- Afr 8089.36
HOLLIS Record  (vol. 7, pt.1: Australia)
HOLLIS Record (vol. 6: Canada and Newfoundland)

Encyclopedia of Western colonialism since 1450, ed. by Thomas Benjamin. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. 3 v. 
HOLLIS Record

Secondary Sources

Bibliographies

Look for specialized subject bibliographies which may include secondary sources in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search, e.g., <india occupation [Keyword search] and bibliography [Subject Keyword search]> on Expanded Search screen or in WorldCat.

Oxford Bibliographies Online are literature guides in several humanities and social sciences areas.

Periodical Indexes

See also:
Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on Africa
Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on South and Southeast Asia
Finding Periodical Articles and Book Reviews on Latin America

Bibliography of British and Irish History (formerly Royal Historical Society Bibliography) is a comprehensive bibliography of secondary sources dealing with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present.

Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.