Library Research Guide for British Colonial and Foreign Relations Sources

Bibliography

Comparative Constitutional Law, Gov 2480: Foreign Constitutions & Law

A Legal bibliography of the British Commonwealth of Nations. 2nd edition by W. Harold Maxwell and Leslie F. Maxwell. London : Sweet & Maxwell, 1955-
 v. 6. Australia, New Zealand and their dependencies, from earliest times to June, 1958 ; with lists of reports of cases, digests, and collections of statutes and rules.
v. 7. The British Commonwealth ; excluding the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India and Pakistan.
HOLLIS Record
Internet Archive Full Text (Vol. 7)

The Judicial Committee of the Privy Counsil in London was the final court of appeal for cases originating in the colonies and the India Office lands.

Catalogue of Privy Council Papers “contains key details for approximately 10,000 cases, decided between 1792-1998, links to full-text judgements from BAILII where available, and the full-text Printed Papers for 6 cases”.

Judicial Committee of the Privy Council Decisions (BAILII) offers full text of all decisions 1996 - date and selected decisions 1806-

Legal history: England & common law tradition: Judicial Committee of Privy Council (Oxford) offers links to guides to collections of Privy Counsil record in Britain

Chapter Three The Privy Council: The Umpire of the British Empire, by Steven Gow Calabresi. In: The history and growth of judicial review, by Steven Gow Calabresi. New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2021, 2 volumes.

Acts of the Privy Council of England. Colonial series. Hereford, Printed for H. M. Stationery Off., by Anthony Brothers, 1908-12.
HOLLIS Records
HathiTrust Full text     1,5,6
HathiTrust Full text  1-4, 6
HathiTrust Full text 1,2,3,5,6

Indian Reports. Privy Council. 1811-72. Great Britain. Privy Council. Madras, 1910-11 (Verbatim Reprint) Vol. 1-4.  
HOLLIS Record
HathiTrust Full text 1,2,4

Other cases reported in other Privy Council publications and in the Indian Law Reports
HathiTrust Full Text
Many volumes available from the Center for Research Libraries

Appeals to the Privy Council from the American Colonies: An Annotated Digital Catalogue
Part 1: 13 Colonies; Part 2: Canada and Caribbean