Biographical Sources
To find personal writings by British administrators and others, search in HOLLIS: (Narratives OR Diaries OR Correspondence OR Memoir?) AND India, limiting to English.
World Biographical Information System includes online full text of thousands of biographical dictionaries accessible by name of biographee. More information.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes thousands of English-language biographical dictionaries and other compendia. Not full text; one must do HOLLIS searches for retrieved sources.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the standard British source for biographies of major figures. Can do searches of occupations and limit by date: Advanced Search Options: People Search.
Colonial Service biographical data: the published sources, by A.H.M. Kirk-Greene. African Research and Documentation, no. 46 (1988), pp. 2-16.
India Office Family History Search
Families in British India Society (FIBIS)
Britain & Japan: biographical portraits, ed. by Ian Nish. Folkestone: Japan Library, 5 v. 1994-2005
Harvard-Yenching | (W) | DA47.9.J3 B73 1994
Widener | Harvard Depository | DA47.9.J3 B73 1994
HOLLIS Record
A biographical dictionary of the British Colonial Service, 1939-1966, by A.H.M. Kirk-Greene. London; New York : H. Zell, 1991, 403 p.
HOLLIS Record (F at the end of the call number means that this book is oversize and shelved at the end of the main DA sequence, Widener Level 1 East
--Includes the nearly 15,000 names in the Colonial Office List with birth year, education, and posts held.
Indian army list, 1926-1947? - HOLLIS record
The East-India register and directory, for 1819 ... : from the official returns received at the East-India house. 2nd ed. / London : Sold by Black, Kingsbury, Parbury and Allen, (London : Cox and Baylis) [1819]
HOLLIS Record (In Making of the Modern World)