Library Research Guide for British Colonial and Foreign Relations Sources

Materials for a bibliography of the public archives of the thirteen original states, covering the colonial period and the state period to 1789, by Adelaide R. Hasse ...
HOLLIS Record
Online Version
--Lists published versions of early state archives.

A guide to manuscripts relating to the history of the British empire, 1748-1776, by Lawrence Henry Gipson. (The British empire before the American revolution, v. 15) New York, Knopf, 1970, xxii, 490, xxxvi pp.
Widener Br 397.30.5 vol.15
HOLLIS Record

Offers an overview of manuscripts related to the British American colonies in British, Canadian and American archives, with subject, largely name, index.  Useful in isolating pertinent material in much larger colletions (e.g., the UK National Archives, formerly the Public Record Office).  Includes an easily browsable list of the contents of CO 5: correspondence between the Board of Trade and Secretaries of State and the English, later British, colonies in North America and the Caribbean.  Much of his material is still only in the home repository, but much had been microfilmed or digitized.  We can help find this accessible material.

Bibliographical guide to the history of the British Empire, 1748-1776, by Lawrence Henry Gipson. (The British Empire before the American Revolution. v. 14) New York, Knopf, 1969, xxiii, 478 pp.
Widener Br 397.30.5 vol.14
HOLLIS Record

Colonial

Confidential Print, North America, 1824-1961 contains printed material, from single letters to large volumes, circulated to officials in the Foreign or Colonial Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. Includes all material contained in the following National Archives record classes: CO 880/1-32 North America, 1839-1914; CO 884/1-38 West Indies, 1826-1961; FO 414/1-278 North America 1824-1941; FO 461/1-13 America, 1942-1956; FO 462/1-10 USA, 1947-1956.

Foreign Office

Foreign Office files, United States of America. Series one, USA politics and diplomacy, 1960-1974 (Public Record Office class FO 371).
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 963 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 963 = guide Level B
--pt. 1. The John F. Kennedy years, 1960-1963 (reels 1-26) Online guide
--pt. 2. The Lyndon B. Johnson years, 1964-1968 (reels 27-56) Online guide

Foreign Office files, United States of America. Series two, Vietnam, 1959-1975 (Public Record Office class FO 371). 9 pts. on 205 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 963.2 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 963.2 = guide Level B (5 vols.)
-- pt. 1. Vietnam, 1959-1963 (33 microfilm reels) Online guide
-- pt. 2. Laos, 1959-1963 (58 microfilm reels) Online guide
-- pt. 3. Cambodia, 1959-1963 (14 microfilm reels) Online guide
-- pt. 4. SEATO, SE Asia and Thailand (25 microfilm reels) Online guide
-- pt. 5. FO 371/175464-FO 371/186419 (44 reels) Online guide
-- pt. 6. Vietnam, 1967-1968, FCO 15/481-486 (31 microfilm reels) Online guide

Foreign Office Files, United States of America. Series three, The Cold War (Public Record Office class FO 371 and related files). 2 pts. on 61 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 963.3 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 963.3 = guide Level B (2 v.)
-- pt. 1. The Berlin Crisis, 1947-1950 (reels 1-30) Online guide
-- pt. 2. The Prague Spring and Soviet Intervention in Czechoslovakia, 1967-1968 (reels 31-51) Online guide

Foreign Office files for Cuba: (Public Record Office class FO 371). 3 pt. on 37 microfilm reels.
Microforms (Lamont) | Film A 1067 Level B
Microforms (Lamont) | INDEX Film A 1067 = guide
-- pt. 1. Revolution in Cuba, 1959-1960 (PRO classes FO 371/139396-139521, 148178-148345 & PREM 11/2622) (13 reels) Online guide
-- pt. 2. Cuba and the Bay of Pigs invasion, 1961 (PRO classes FO 371/156137-156255 & PREM 11/3316, 3321 & 3328) (9 reels) Online guide
-- pt. 3. The Cuban missile crisis, 1962 (PRO classes FO 371/162308-162436, 168135 & PREM 11/3689-3691) (15 reels) Online guide