From Harvard collection

Attributed to Kaikei
(active c. 1183 - 1236)
Left Hand of a Colossal Amitâbha Buddha (Amida Nyorai)

Current affairs

Digital Archive of Japan's 2011 Disasters maintained by Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies

Save MLAK 博物館・美術館・図書館・文書館・公民館の震災被災・救援情報 Portal for Museum, Library, Archives, and Kominkan dealing with the aftermath of the Earthquake/Tsunami on March 11, 2011.

Audio Visual

What's New

<All contents of JapanKnowledge Scheduled suspension>

9:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. on Saturday, 25 Sep. 2021 (Japan Time)

Please feel free to ask us for more detail at b2b@japanknowledge.com

New online contents:

Todofuken tokeisho detabesu  都道府県統計書データベース in J-DAC 

Web Ronza.   via VPN

 Asahi Digital (Please make sure to log out each time.) via VPN

Hollis for Archival Discovery    New Hollis tool to discover primary sources including letters, photographs, film and video, print items, digital materials, and objects in Special collections and archives.

Japan News Digital Archive Launched in 1955, The Japan News is an English-language daily published by The Yomiuri Shimbun. Known by several different names during its history (Japan News, Yomiuri Japan News, The Yomiuri, The Daily Yomiuri), The Japan News adopted its current name in 2013.

Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the United States. The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles, California. (1914-2018)

Maruzen e-Book LibraryNew contents include: Over 800 titles of Iwanami publications in 岩波文庫 and 岩波新書 ; 広辞苑第7版満洲グラフ Manshu Graph (1933-1944), 東京大学明治新聞雑誌文庫所蔵雑誌目次総覧(150巻).
 

J-DAC ジャパンデジタルアーカイブズセンター
楠田實資料: 佐藤栄作官邸文書 Prime Minister Eisaku Sato's archive, 矢部貞治関係文書 -- 大平正芳関係文書 -- 大来左武郎関係文書 -- 三木武夫関係資料

Remote Access Contents for Japanese resources

Kigoshi Osamu Collection Rich in contemporary culture, donated in 2019

Harvard Alumni now can access to JapanKnowledge

Japan Search National platform to discover over 21 million items with 3.1 million contents publicly accessible. Created by National Diet Library of Japan.

Cultural Japan  Launched in August 2020, a discovery site for over 1 million Japanese items

Art Platform Japan(アートプラットフォームジャパン)日本現代アートの持続的発展を目指し、美術館の収蔵品情報や資料を国内外に向けて公開するとともに、国際的なネットワークづくりを推進するためのプラットフォーム

CiNii Research 文献だけでなく、外部連携機関、機関リポジトリ等の研究データ、KAKENの研究プロジェクト情報などを含めて、シンプルなインターフェースから横断検索

Newly digitized!

Harvard-Yenching Library Japanese Digital Collection- Rare Books (ongoing project)

偐紫田舍源氏: Nise Murasaki Inaka Genji (1829-1842) 

Manchukuo related postcards of Harvard-Yenching Library (some 2400 cards are now digitized)

And they are also found here: Linked Archive of Asian Postcards

New E-Contents

岩波書店「思想」Shiso(1921-1949)

Manchuria Daily News (1912-1941)

Japan Advertiser (1913-1940) included in Japan Times Archive

Japan Year Book (1933-1952)

New Titles at JapanKnowledge 

「大漢和辞典」(1927-2000, 15 vols)

JKBooks文藝春秋アーカイブズ  (1923-1950)

JKBooks 鎌倉遺文1,2

弘文荘待買古書目

角川古語大辞典

角川地名大辞典

新編国歌大観

Harvard resources

HOLLIS+: a new discovery tool that allows you to search Books and Articles together, and more. ID

HOLLIS Classic: able to search using "phrase", call number, and non-Roman characters.

OASIS (Online Archival Search Information System): finding aids for archival and manuscript collections.

VIA (Visual Information Access): a catalog to images owned by Harvard, dose not incude original characters.

A Directory to Photographs at Harvard

Harvard Art Museum Collections

 A Selection of Web-Accessible Collections : including Yenching's Hedda Morrison photo collection.

Open Collections program: virtual collections of thematically linked material selected from numerous Harvard repositories

Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH): A central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard.

Office for Scholarly Communication

metaLAB (at) Harvard

Welcome

This site aims to be your research navigator for Japanese studies.

Your questions, suggestions, and feedback are most critical to make this tool useful.

Thanks!

Kuniko Yamada McVey  Librarian for the Japanese Collection  voice: 617-495-3395

Harvard-Yenching Library

For beyond Medieval Japan: Research Guide for Japanese Studeis

E.du

Learning Technology

Loading ...