Research Guides: Women's Suffrage: Periodicals

Images from Schlesinger Library

Periodicals

The following list features publications related to the suffrage movement. Please note that this list is not exhaustive and that many of the periodicals have been digitized and are available online in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.

Tip: You can also use the HOLLIS catalog to search for periodicals relating to suffrage. This can be helpful as some titles may not yet be available online.

Start in Harvard's HOLLIS catalog with an advanced search.
Enter the term "suffrage" or another keyword in the keyword search field.
Limit your search results to "Journals" in the "Resource Type" field.
In the "Search Scope" field, select "Schlesinger" from the drop down menu.
Click the "Search" button.

Sample search results:

Periodicals/Journals

The American Suffragette
The official organ of the National Progressive Woman Suffrage Union. Published monthly in New York, New York. 1909-1911
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
Anti-Suffrage Notes
Published in Cambridge, Massachusetts by the Cambridge Anti-Suffrage Association. 1917-1918.
[ Issues no.158 (1917:June 12)-no.175 (1918:Jan. 21), with gaps, of Anti-Suffrage Notes have been digitized and are accessible without a Harvard ID.]
The Anti-Suffragist
Published in Albany, New York by the New York State Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. 1908-1912.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
National Suffrage News
Published in New York, New York by the National American Woman Suffrage Association. 1917. Digital content for this publication can be found under its parent publication, National American Woman Suffrage Association Headquarters Newsletter at the link below.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
The New Voter
Published in Baltimore, Maryland by the Equal Suffrage League. 1910-1911.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
Progress
Published in New York, New York by the National American Woman Suffrage Association. 1901-1910.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
The Remonstrance
Published in Boston, Massachusetts by the Massachusetts Association Opposed to the Further Extension of Suffrage to Women. 1890-1913.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
Suffrage News Quarterly
Published in Boston, Massachusetts by the Massachusetts Woman Suffrage Association. 1918-1919.
The Suffragist
The official organ of the Congressional Union for Women's Suffrage. Published in Washingtion D.C. 1913-1921.
[Issues v.4:no.21 (1916:May)-v.9:no.1(1921:Jan./Feb.) can be accessed online without a Harvard ID and also through Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
Votes for Women
Published in London, England by The Reformer's Press. 1907-1918.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
The Woman Citizen: Official Organ of the National American Woman Suffrage Association
Published in New York by Leslie Woman Suffrage Commission. 1917-1927.
[Digital content can be found under the title The Woman's Journal (the parent publication) in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
The Woman Patriot
Published in Washington D.C. by Woman Patriot Pub. Co. 1918-1932.
[Issues v.1:no.19(1918:Aug.)-v.11:no.2(1927:Jan. 15), with gaps can be accessed online without a Harvard ID and also in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
The Woman's Journal
The official organ of the National American Woman Suffrage Association. Edited by Julia Ward Howe, Lucy Stone, Thomas Wentworth Higgins, and others. Published in Boston, MA. 1870-1912.
[ All issues of The Woman's Journal have been digitized and are accessible without a Harvard ID.]
The Woman's Protest
Published in New York, New York by the National Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage. 1912-1918.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]
Woman's Suffrage Journal
Published in London, England by Trübner. 1871-1890.
[Digital content can be found in Women: Transnational Networks. This database requires a Harvard ID to access.]