Library Databases
- ACM Digital LibraryProvides access to the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals and magazines, as well as conference proceedings.
- Annual Reviewsincludes Biochemistry, Biomedical Data Science, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Computer Science, Control, Robotics, and Autonomous Systems, Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Food Science and Technology, Materials Research, and more.
- BIOSIS Previews (1969-present)An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Search across journals, meetings, patents, and books.
- Countway Discovery MedicineUsing multiple EBSCO databases, Countway Discovery Medicine searches across the full text of journal articles rather than just the article title and abstract. The search is also matched against an index of terms (e.g. MeSH). If your keyword matches a term in a paper and also matches, or is a synonym of, a term in the index then that paper will rise in relevance in the results list.
- Environmental Science Indexoffers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsFull-text access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
99th Edition - IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE digital library users
- MathSciNetAmerican Mathematical Society's searchable database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.
- PubMedPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. I highly recommend using the free My NCBI account. For more information see https://guides.library.harvard.edu/PubMed
- SIAMSociety for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
- SPIE Digital LibrarySPIE proceedings include more than 450,000 optics and photonics conference papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging. SPIE journals offer peer-reviewed articles on applied research in optics and photonics, including optical engineering, electronic imaging, biomedical optics, microlithography, remote sensing, and nanophotonics.
- O'ReillyO'Reilly (previously Safari Tech Books Online) provides access to more than 35,000 full-text e-books from O'Reilly, Sams, Peachpit Press, Que, Addison-Wesley, and other publishers. Coverage includes business, information technology, software development, and computer science.
- Web of ScienceSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Select Business Databases - for more help and information regarding business resources please check out the Baker Library | Bloomsberg Center and feel free to contact their staff - they are here to help!
- PitchBook - Information on companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the private investment lifecycle. Morningstar Equity Investment reports available in PitchBook Research Center.
- Harvard Business Review - you can seach within the publication or browse by year, volume, or issue.
- IBISWorld - Research reports on industries in the United States- including reports on industries in 16 states, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada and China. Reports include analysis of industry drivers, risk, market data and segments, competitors, and industry performance. US Industry Spotlight reports cover niche industries mostly comprised of small businesses. Global industry reports for selected industries are also available.
Topics - these links will show multiple databases on a particular topic
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Web of ScienceSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
- ProQuest CentralThis database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subject areas and features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
- Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. - Annual Reviewsincludes Biochemistry, Biomedical Data Science, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Computer Science, Control, Robotics, and Autonomous Systems, Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Food Science and Technology, Materials Research, and more.
- Very Short Introduction - Oxford AcademicVery Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm to make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.
Preprints - Preprint servers are online archives or repositories that provide open access to scholarly work that has not yet been peer-reviewed or accepted by a traditional journal.
- arXiv.org
- This link opens in a new window
An e-print service which presents papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas. - engrXiv (engineering archive)Engineering Archive (engrXiv) is the eprint server for engineering. Dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently.
- TechRxivTechRxiv (pronounced "tech archive") is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology.
- bioRxiv.orgThe Preprint Servier for Biology
SciFinder - need to register before using
- SciFinder - is the most comprehensive tool for searching chemical information and is a great resource for chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, environmental science and more.
To access SciFinder your will need to register (create a personalized username and password) from a computer with a Harvard or Harvard affiliated IP address. Please use your Harvard affiliated email.
Once you have registered and created your username and password you may then log in from any computer with access to the internet using the Harvard SciFinder access link.