Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU)

 If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to me via email, phone, or Zoom.

Harvard Library homepage

library.harvard.edu - start here to find the library catalog (HOLLIS) or library hours, locate a study space, ask for help, explore our collections, learn about upcoming events and special exhibits, and much more.

Library Catalog - HOLLIS

HOLLIS - search for books, articles, media and more.  Be sure to sign in to get the most out of the catalog. For more information, check out the HOLLIS User Guide or Ask a Librarian.

All Databases

Go to HOLLIS and, at the top, click on DATABASES - You can search for databases in a variety of ways e.g. top picks, by academic disciplines, or view all 1000+ databases with which Harvard provides access.

Recommended Databases

  • Academic Search Premier - A general research database with articles from many subjects—like science, history, health, and more. Good for finding scholarly and popular sources.
  • Google Scholar - Using Google Scholar with your HarvardKey allows you to make the most of provided links, granting access to full text available through Harvard Library subscriptions.
  • Annual Reviews - Publishes expert-written summaries of research in science, social science, and health. Great for getting an overview of big topics and trends.
  • PubMed (National Library of Medicine) - PubMed comprises more than 38 million citations and articles in medicine, bioengineering, biology, and health. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • arXiv- A free collection of research papers in physics, math, computer science, and more. Many are early versions shared before peer review. 
  • IEEE Xplore - Find journal articles, conference papers, and standards in engineering, computer science, and technology—mostly published by IEEE Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). 
  • ACM Digital Library - Access articles, conference papers, and magazines about computing, software, and tech from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
  • Inspec - Search for research in physics, engineering, and computer science. Includes journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports.
  • Web of Science - A research database that covers many subjects, especially science and social science. Great for finding scholarly articles and tracking how studies are cited.
  • JoVE (Journal of visualized experiments) -  A video-based journal that shows lab techniques and science experiments in areas like biology, chemistry, engineering, and medicine.

Government Resources

How to Read a STEM article 

Helpful Tools

  • Zotero - An easy-to-use citation tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
  • LinkedIn Learning - Watch video tutorials and short courses that can teach you a new skill or how to use a specific computer program. (Formerly known as Lynda.com)
  • Open Knowledge Maps - Use to visualize related topics and research areas with AI

Tech Lending

Multimedia Production Resources - Find and learn how to use audiovisual production tools, including cameras, microphones, studio spaces, and other equipment at Cabot Science Library and Lamont Library.

Journal Search 

Go to HOLLIS and click on Starts With / Browse and using the dropdown option select Browse by Title to search for any newspaper, magazine or journal title and see if Harvard provides access and in what format. 

Short Cuts to Popular Titles

Ask a Librarian 

ask.library.harvard.edu is a service that allows you to email, chat, or request an appointment with a library specialist.  This site also has a really helpful set of FAQs.

More on What We Talked About in Class

Library Perks - include links to free newspapers, movies, poetry, music, opera, and more.

Archives

AI Initiatives at Harvard