Find Data: COMPSCI 73: Code, Data, and Art
I highly recommend checking out the following research guides created by Diane Sredl, our Data Reference Librarian:
- Beginner's Guide to Locating and Using Numeric Data
- Health Data Resources: International
- Health Data Resources: United States
- Public Opinion Data Resources
- Trade Data Resources
- United States Census Data Resources
Select Harvard Library Databases - Harvard Login required
Statista - A statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) - Categories of datasets include census enumerations; community and urban studies; economic behavior and attitudes; government structures, policies, and capabilities; social indicators; and much more. Need to create an individual account to download the data.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - Provides access to summary-level (aggregate) and micro-level (raw) public opinion data. While the data collection focuses strongly on United States public opinion, it also includes growing collections of (micro-level) European, Latin American (Latin American Databank), and Japanese (JPOLL) polls. The Roper Center resources require users to set up individual accounts in order to gain access to the data.
Select National and International Agencies
- World Health Organization (WHO)
- US Census
- National Science Foundation (NSF)
- undata - United Nations
- World Bank Open Data
- Johns Hopkins Coronavirus Resource Center
- PANGAEA - Data Publisher for Earth & Environmental Science
Select Data Repositories
- re3data.org - A global registry of research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
- Dryad - is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
- Open Science Framework (OSF)
- U.S. Department of Commerce - Data and reports include Environmental data, Economic indicators, Population statistics, and more
- NOAA Data Discovery Portal - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
- Harvard Dataverse Network - Collections include data sets from government entities, universities, and individual researchers. Harvard Login is required for access to certain datasets.
Select Harvard Resources
- Harvard University Fact Book - The Fact Book is intended as a general source of information about the University.
- Harvard College Open - public Harvard datasets in a free repository. "We’ve used data science and data visualization techniques to analyze data on campus safety, faculty gender disparity, student government election turnout, and trends in concentration popularity, to name a few."
- Harvard Library APIs & Datasets - Harvard Library provides open access to our metadata through APIs, including LibraryCloud and the Caselaw Access Project.
- Harvard Forest Data Archive - The HF Data Archive contains datasets from scientific research at the Harvard Forest.