Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biblical Studies Resources

An orientation to selected resources in Harvard Divinity School Library and in online resources licensed by the Harvard Library for the study of the Bible

Finding Articles and Books

ATLA Religion Database 

  • Best bet for articles on biblical topics.   To precisely locate articles on a specific text (e.g., Luke 10)  use the "Scriptures" link at the top of the search screen. Scripture search tutorial (1 minute)

Old Testament Abstracts

Brief  abstracts (or summaries)  of scholarly articles related to the study of the Hebrew Bible.  All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work.

 New Testament Abstracts

Brief  abstracts (or summaries)  of scholarly articles related to the study of New Testament and early Christianity.  All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work.

For additional biblical studies databases, see this library's suggestions for Hebrew Bible-Old Testament and New Testament and Early Christianity.

Use HOLLIS to locate books.  For greater precision, use the Advanced Search.  Change "any field" to "subject contains" and formulate your search like these examples: "bible job";  "bible romans."

Also consider using:

  • Elenchus of Biblica (Print Only)  Covers publications from  1968-2011.  It was the most comprehensive work in its field during the years it was published, covering books, reviews, and articles on the Hebrew Bible, New Testament, intertestamental Judaism, the early patristic period, biblical theology, archaeology, and other related topics. It has an annual subject index, author index, lists of texts, and indexes of Hebrew and Greek words.

  • International Review of Biblical Studies (Print Only).  Covers publications from 1952 to 2010.   Not as comprehensive as Elenchus, it includes abstracts in German, French, or English of each item indexed and has an arrangement that is easier to use.  It covers articles in over 400 periodicals, plus Festschriften, reports, and book reviews. There is a classified subject arrangement; the table of contents is at the end of each volume. . It was originally titled Internationale Zeitschriftenschau für Bibelwissenschaft und Grenzgebiete (Print Only).  The last volume published was nr.56 (2009-2010)

  • Bibliographies for Biblical Research (Print Only) compiled by Watson E. Mills [Old Testament series (older); Old Testament series;New Testament series (older); New Testament seriesSupplemental series]. Most of the volumes in the older series have three parts: scriptural citations, subject citations, and commentaries. The listings are not comprehensive but do usually include significant works up to the time of the compilation. The newer series updated periodical literature only.

         Harvard Diviity School shield   

HARVARD DIVINITY SCHOOL LIBRARY
45 Francis Avenue, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138 617.495.5788

my.hds   |   Harvard University   |   Harvard Library   |   Privacy Policy   |   Trademark Notice   |   Reporting Copyright Infringements
Copyright © 2015 President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.