LGBTQI+ Policy Research Guide
The following resources offer introductions to research on gender and sexuality. You can use them to get a broad understanding of your topic before delving deeper with the databases and other resources listed further down on this page.
Featured Resource: Schlesinger Library at the Harvard Radcliffe Institute
Schlesinger Library at the Harvard Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study is "considered the leading center for scholarship on the history of women in the United States, with collections that span civil rights and feminism, health and sexuality, work and family life, education and the professions, and culinary history and etiquette."
Schlesinger in open to the public. Explore their collections and research resources online. Many of the related guides listed at the bottom of this page were created by Schlesinger librarians.
LGBTQI+ Policy Research Guide
Find data on all topics & support resources in our
Data Resources for HKS Affiliates Research Guide
Find Books & Articles
For books, search for full titles or keywords in HOLLIS, Harvard's library catalog.
Also for books, explore the following book displays curated annually in the HKS Library:
- Women's History Month (March)
- LGBTQ+ Pride Month (June)
- LGBTQ History Month (October)
Finally, explore books from our Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging Collection:
For journal articles, explore the databases below:
- Alt-PressWatchFull-text articles for over 210 publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current.
- GenderWatch (Harvard Login)Comprehensive, interdisciplinary database of articles on all aspects of gender studies; draws on both scholarly and non-academic publications.
- LGBTQ+ Source (Harvard Login)Contains abstracts for magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books on all aspects of the LGBTQ+ community.
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (Harvard Login)Comprehensive index of journal articles in women's and gender studies, with a strong focus on the social sciences.
- Women's Studies International (Harvard Login)Citations and abstracts drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. 1972-present.
Also explore the following resources at HKS:
- Gender Action Portal - Led by the Women and Public Policy Program at HKS, GAP "is a collection of research evaluating the impact of specific policies, strategies, and organizational practices to advance gender equity. GAP focuses on experimental approaches to evaluate policies—both in the field and in the laboratory—and draws from multiple disciplines, including economics, psychology, and organizational behavior."
- Gender, Race & Identity - HKS Policy Topic centered on the question of how gender, race, class and other aspects of identity affect the policymaking process.
Find Primary Sources
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ Culture and History since 1940 (Harvard Login)Includes historical primary source material from hundreds of major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, as well as interviews with LGBTQ individuals, letters, LGBTQ newspaper archives, policy papers, etc.
- Digital Transgender ArchiveAn international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections, the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) makes available digitally a wide range of trans-related materials. The purpose of the DTA is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
- Gender: Identity and Social Change (Harvard Login)Compiles materials from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia that document changing attitudes to gender roles and relations, women's rights, etc., from the 19th century.
- The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Harvard Login)Digitized version of one of the most famous and significant collections of books, periodicals, and pamphlets documenting the history of women, initially started in the late 19th century.
- Independent VoicesEclectic selection of alternative publications by various U.S. activist, minority, and counterculture groups from the 1950s onward; includes digitized versions of several feminist and LGBT magazines.
- LGBT Thought and Culture (Harvard Login)Contains books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements from the twentieth century to the present. The collection includes letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights, as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of LGBT individuals and the community.
- ProQuest History Vault: Women's Studies (Harvard Login)Contains files and manuscripts of major U.S. women's rights organizations (e.g., the League of Women Voters) and activists (e.g., Margaret Sanger).
- Queer Pasts (Harvard Login)Contains primary sources on queer history, broadly speaking (i.e., not only "traditional" LGBT history but sources encompassing sexual minority experiences broadly).
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Harvard Login)Contains a wealth of primary and secondary sources on U.S. women's history, arranged in thematic "document projects."
- Women's Studies Archive (Harvard Login)Collection of primary sources focused on women's movements in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- LGBT Studies in Video (Harvard Login)Collection of documentaries and other non-fiction film on LGBT topics, both current and historical.
- Alexander Street Press Diversity Collection (Harvard Login)Contains documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures.
- PBS Video Collection (Harvard Login)Contains hundreds of documentaries and other television broadcasts from PBS, including "American Experience," "Finding Your Roots," "Frontline," etc.
- Digitalia Film Library (Harvard Login)Digitalia Film Library offers streaming video of films and documentaries from Latin America, Europe and North America.
- Film Platform (Harvard Login)A curated collection of educational films covering a variety of topics from legal studies generally to human rights, environmental studies, politics, technology, among others.
- Kanopy (Harvard Login)Collection of videos including documentaries. Clips can be created and saved.
- Queer America"...hosts Leila Rupp and John D'Emilio, Queer America takes listeners on a journey that spans from Harlem to the Frontier West, revealing stories of LGBTQ life we should have learned in school." Produced in partnership with University of Wisconsin Press.
- Our Body Politic"A podcast unapologetically reporting how women of color impact today’s major political events."
- Gender Reveal"The Gender Reveal podcast explores the vast diversity of trans experiences through interviews with a wide array of trans, nonbinary and two-spirit people. Created by journalist and educator Tuck Woodstock, the show also serves as a free educational tool for anyone seeking to learn more about gender."
Related Library Guides
9 to 5, National Association of Working Women (U.S.)
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 277 views this year
African American Women
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated May 3, 2023 1169 views this year
Black Women Oral History Project Interviews, 1976–1981
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 5972 views this year
Boston Women's Health Book Collective
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 1247 views this year
Catching the Wave: Photographs of the Women's Movement
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 543 views this year
Equal Rights Amendment (ERA)
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 380 views this year
Latinx and Hispanic Women
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 388 views this year
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 791 views this year
LGBTQ+ Resources at Harvard (and Beyond)
by Jamillah Gabriel Last Updated Oct 25, 2021 192 views this year
by Alessandra Seiter Last Updated May 19, 2023 205 views this year
by Meredith Solomon Last Updated Jun 2, 2022 1305 views this year
National Organization for Women
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 842 views this year
Redirected: Reproduction, Family Planning, and the Debate Over Abortion.
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 0 views this year
Violence Against Women
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 327 views this year
Women at Harvard University
by Ed Copenhagen Last Updated Oct 7, 2022 5048 views this year
Writing Women's History into Wikipedia
by Jennifer Fauxsmith Last Updated Mar 6, 2023 46 views this year