In 1978 the Bernays Foundation sponsored an essay competition on the topic of "A Practical Program to Achieve Economic Justice for Homemakers." Babson College, in Wellesley, Massachusetts, co-sponsored the competition. These competition records include essays submitted to address the theme.

The Berkshire Conference on the History of Women was held at various women's colleges starting in 1974. Presenters at these conferences were able to contribute their papers, speeches and discussions to a running archive now held by the Schlesinger Library. Many of these papers are relevant to the topic of domestic labor, including Elizabeth Pleck's A Mother's Wages: The Role of Black Women in the Family Economy, 1896-1911, Rima D. Apple's The Commercialization of Scientific Motherhood in the U.S., 1880-1950, and Dolores Hayden's Domestic Work and Women's Neighborhood Cooperative.

Under the auspices of the Schlesinger Library, the Black Women Oral History Project interviewed 72 African-American women between 1976 and 1981. The project sought a cross section of women who had made significant contributions to American society in the first half of the twentieth century. Many of these women spoke on the topic of domestic labor in their interviews, including Melnea Cass, Pleasant Harrison, Annie Nipson, and Esther Mae Scott. The collection consists of audio tapes and transcripts, all have which have been digitized and are available online through the Black Women Oral History Project finding aid, and searchable in Schlesinger Library's subject guide on the Black Women Oral History Project.

Lisa Krissoff Boehm, professor of urban studies at Worcester State College, conducted a series of interviews from 2000-2007 with African American women in preparation for her book, Making a Way out of No Way: African American Women and the Second Great Migration. This collection consists of transcripts and audio recordings of those interviews, many of which discuss domestic work and housekeeping.

COYOTE (Call Off Your Tired Old Ethics) was an organization concerned with the rights of prostitutes and decriminalization of prostitution. It was founded by Margo St. James, and based in California. COYOTE sought to provide legal and medical services for prostitutes, offered employment, health, and financial counseling, and worked to educate the public about prostitution. After a fire destroyed COYOTE headquarters in 1978, the organization was absorbed by the National Task Force on Prostitution. COYOTE considered Wages for Housework to be a Sister Organization, and additional material concerning Wages for Housework can be found in Series X of the Records of COYOTE.

Mary (Molly) Williams Dewson studied ways to professionalize housework at the Women's Educational and Industrial Union in Boston. She was the first head of the parole department of Massachusetts State Industrial School for Girls, from 1900-1912, and worked for a minimum wage in Massachusetts and later with the National Consumers' League. She also worked for woman suffrage. This collection consists of correspondence, a photograph, fliers, reports, legal briefs, writings, speeches, clippings, and printed campaign material that document Dewson's involvement in the suffrage movement, the minimum wage battle, the National Consumers' League, and the Democratic Party.
See also the Papers of Molly Dewson.

The Inter-Municipal Committee on Household Research was founded in 1904 in order to investigate and distribute information on unemployed women and domestic workers. This research was financed by and carried out by women's organizations across Boston, New York, and Philadelphia. The collection includes the 1904 announcement of the committee and its plan of study, which includes immigration, Afro-American women, and domestic training, as well as one article from 1906 describing the work of the committee.

Sylvia Wright Mitarachi was an editor and contributor to Harper's Bazaar. She became a fellow at the Bunting Institute at Radcliffe College, 1977-1978, during which time she was researching and writing a biography of her distant relative, Melusina Fay Peirce, author of Co-operative Housekeeping: How Not to Do It and How to Do It: A Study in Sociology (1884). Mitarachi died in 1981, leaving the book unfinished. This collection includes records of the Cambridge Co-operative Housekeeping Society and the Poe Cottage Preservation Association. It also includes draft typescripts of a biography of Melusina Fay Pierce, and correspondence regarding her research, as well as the subject files and biographical files on the life of Melusina Fay Pierce collected by Mitarachi.

Ide O'Carroll was an Irish teacher who moved to Boston, Massachusetts in 1986. She founded the Irish Women in Boston group and set up a media collective, Trasna na dTonnta [Across the Waves]. While a doctoral student at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, she earned an M.A. in history from Northeastern University, partly for her interviews with a number of Irish women immigrants, mostly in the Boston area. These interviews were the basis for the work that became Models for Movers: Irish Women's Emigration to America, published in 1990. The collection consists of tapes and transcripts of interviews as well as legal agreements, photographs, and background material. Many of the women interviewed were household employees. Also included in the collection are videotapes of Irish immigrants.

The Mothers' Club of Cambridge, Massachusetts, was founded in 1878 for discussion of problems relating to the members' children. Its scope was later expanded to include programs on the conditions of less privileged children, domestic service, and other subjects. Meetings were suspended during World War II and never resumed. This collection contains financial records, minutes, reports, bylaws, manuscripts of poems and speeches, membership lists, and clippings of the Club.

Active in the fields of labor, education, women's rights, and consumer affairs, Peterson was involved in union organizing, worker education, and labor and consumer legislation lobbying. She was head of the Women's Bureau, Assistant Secretary of Labor for Labor Standards, executive vice chairman of the President's Commission on the Status of Women, and Special Assistant to the President for Consumer Affairs, among other positions. Peterson also helped found the National Committee on Household Employment, an organization that brought together voluntary organizations and government agencies under the auspices of the Women's Bureau (1964-1965) to improve the working conditions of household workers, develop training programs, and change public attitudes about household employees. Material pertaining to the National Committee on Household Employment can be found in Series III of the Papers of Esther Peterson.

Wages for Housework was a global feminist movement organized around the principle of addressing gendered labor, reproductive labor, and domestic work. This document contains the history, theory, and documents from the New York Wages for Housework Committee from 1972-1977, as well as material pertaining to other branches from the Wages for Housework Movement. The Schlesinger holds a number of materials and collections relevant to Wages for Housework including the Wages for Housework International Campaign Journal, the Wages for Housework Campaign Bulletin, and the book Wages for Housework. Counter-Planning from the Kitchen: A Perspective on Capital and the Left.

The Women's Educational and Industrial Union was a non-profit social and educational agency founded in 1877 by Dr. Harriet Clisby with the goal of increasing "fellowship among women and to promote the best practical methods for securing their educational, industrial, and social advancement." This collection includes a manuscript history of the Union, printed material regarding the work and operation of various departments, and reports from the Appointment Bureau and Research Department. Related material can be found in the Additional Records of the Women's Educational and Industrial Union. In 1898, the WEIU of Boston assisted the Massachusetts Bureau of Statistics of Labor in publishing Hours of Labor in Domestic Service.

Work and Family is an oral history project conducted by Fran Leeper Buss, an oral historian, teacher, activist, and former minister with United Church of Christ. She founded and directed the Women's Crisis and Information Center in Fort Collins, Colorado, did community outreach work, and has done oral history work interviewing lower income women, union activists, and immigrant women throughout the United States. This collection pertains to the series of oral history interviews with low-income and minority women of all ages from various geographic areas and racial groups which were conducted by Buss. This collection includes audiocassettes and transcripts of 56 oral histories, many of which are relevant to the topic of domestic labor. The Schlesinger Library also holds the Papers of Fran Leeper Buss, which contain further material pertaining to this oral history project, as well as the personal papers of Buss herself.